Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
mdiver
Service Provider
Posts: 47
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2009 2:08 pm
Contact:

unexpected media ID

Post by mdiver » Nov 29, 2016 11:31 am

We are running two large tape jobs with ~10TB to two LTO-5 libraries.
Each job is using ~8-10 tapes.
Every once in a while the job does not want to use all of the tapes provided.
The error shown is "Loaded tape has unexpected media ID than expected. Most likely, this is caused by duplicate barcode. Please insert the correct tape."

There is no duplicate barcode. The tape is in the catalogue only once.
When I erase all the tapes from within Veeam using "short erase", the job runs flawlessly.

Problem is: When the error happens the job is already half done, waiting for a "correct" tape and blocking the drive. So we cannot do an erase. I have to stop the job and loose 1-2 days.

I opened a case on that #01987531

Support only provides the option to format the tapes using vendor tools. But as the short erase does is: there must be an easy way to correct the problem in Veeam's catalogue and allow me to continue my Jobs.

Regards,
Mike

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8759
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by Dima P. » Dec 01, 2016 1:16 am

Hi Mike,

What VBR version are you using? Do you see this behavior with specific tapes or it happens with random media it your library?

mdiver
Service Provider
Posts: 47
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2009 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by mdiver » Dec 02, 2016 3:39 pm

9.0.0.1715

It happens only with certain tapes. But with tapes that has been written to already before.
E.g. this week 6 out of 10 tapes in one set and 5 out of 10 in another set brought this error.

After ll-formating them with an HP tool they worked again.
But this is quite painful because you have to move them to the drive through the libraries web GUI and then format them with the tool on the tape-server.

Thanks,
Mike

Alexey_mz
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 28, 2016 2:33 pm
Full Name: Alexey Mazurin
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by Alexey_mz » Apr 28, 2017 8:01 am

is it resolved? i have the same issue with VBR version 9.5

lyapkost
Veeam Software
Posts: 136
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Full Name: Konstantin
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by lyapkost » May 03, 2017 11:38 am

The issue is being investigated. Looks like it may take place if one doesn't perform library rescan after loading tapes directly to library's magazine and start working with these tapes just after inserting them. To avoid such issues, kindly, follow the recomendations. Support team shold be able to help with the problem if it's already happened.

Eamonn Deering
Service Provider
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 29, 2012 1:42 pm
Full Name: EamonnD
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by Eamonn Deering » Jul 06, 2017 12:26 pm

Getting the same issue. Case # 02205216

Mapleuser
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2015 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by Mapleuser » Jul 10, 2017 8:22 am

Same issue here!
Case #02214189

I manage several sites running Veeam and this issue only happens to site with tape loader.
No issue with normal tape drive.
Currently my workaround is to erase the tape and it will get detected properly.

Support is suggesting that I update to the latest v9.5 patch but I'm not hopeful that it will resolve the issue

lyapkost
Veeam Software
Posts: 136
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Full Name: Konstantin
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by lyapkost » Jul 10, 2017 8:41 am

Hi. The issue will be fixed in the upcoming update. To avoid it before the update one should rescan the library after adding tapes directly into the magazine. To fix the issue once it has occured please refer to the case #02105211 after opening a support ticket.

ljorg
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jun 21, 2017 7:37 am
Full Name: Lars Jorgensen
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by ljorg » Jul 31, 2017 5:21 am

I did that and got a long-winded cookbook on how to fix that tape. Including re-inventorying the entire library. I didn't want to spend that much down-time on the tape library to fix one bogus tape, so instead I did this:

1. Export tape with problem
2. Remove it from configuration
3. Import tapes

Fixed it right up. Of course, that tape had no data on it, as I suspect is the case with all these "unexpected media id" errors. You might need to have a mail slot in your library to do this.


Lars

sergiobentim
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 03, 2017 3:11 pm
Full Name: Sergio Pereira Bentim
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by sergiobentim » Nov 10, 2017 8:02 pm

Remove from Configuration or Remove from Catalog?

Mapleuser
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2015 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by Mapleuser » Nov 14, 2017 4:31 am

To date, haven't seen any update to resolve this matter.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8759
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: unexpected media ID

Post by Dima P. » Nov 14, 2017 9:54 am

Hello Mapleuser,

Asked our team to review your case. Stay tuned.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 14 guests