Upgrade v8 to v9, tape library offline

Everything about backing up to tape

Upgrade v8 to v9, tape library offline

Veeam Logoby macademy » Thu Mar 31, 2016 7:59 am

Hi,

I upgraded a fully working v8 Veeam installation to v9 yesterday and now my tape library is marked as offline and nothing I do seems to make it online again.

No hardware changes were made yesterday, I didn't even enter the server room :D the install was done remotely.

I've restarted the Veeam server several times and tried rescanning the tape library but it's still offline. The rescan sits for a few seconds and then becomes "idle".

The only thing I haven't done yet is power cycle the tape library, but I won't be in the office until this afternoon so can't do this yet.

I've logged a support Case # 01747089.
macademy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:07 pm
Full Name: Ian Cullen

Re: Upgrade v8 to v9, tape library offline

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:32 am

Hello Ian,

Can you check, if the media pools and tape media was migrated from underneath the tape library to the new global media pool entity? Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Upgrade v8 to v9, tape library offline

Veeam Logoby macademy » Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:49 am 1 person likes this post

I've just arrived on-site and restarted both the tape library and the Veeam server, the tape library is now being detected successfully and the backup job is running :D
macademy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:07 pm
Full Name: Ian Cullen

Re: Upgrade v8 to v9, tape library offline

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:16 pm

Glad you nailed it and additional thanks for getting back to us. Cheers!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests