Using Backup Exec to backup Veeam files

Everything about backing up to tape

Using Backup Exec to backup Veeam files

Veeam Logoby siravarice » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:50 am

Hey guys,

just wanted to know if I can use backup exec to write Veeam backup files to tape, whilst Veeam backup is running?

The backup in questions is pretty big ~16TB and runs across 2 days (in BE). Will this clash with the daily Veeam backups that are copying all the VM data at the same time?

Or does backup exec take its own snapshot of that data and then writes that, meaning the data can be overwritten (by Veeam) without it failing?
siravarice
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:47 am
Full Name: Simon Lord

Re: Using Backup Exec to backup Veeam files

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:53 am

Backup file will be locked by running VB&R job, and you won't be able to archive it to tape at that time by BE. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Using Backup Exec to backup Veeam files

Veeam Logoby siravarice » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:55 am

The Veeam job won't be running when the BE job starts. So will the BE job lock the VB&R files so that they cannot be written?

Edit: As in, the BE job takes ~2 days but will start before the VB&R job. So after the BE job starts, the daily VB&R job will want to run and write data to the same location. I'm guessing this will cause some issues?
siravarice
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:47 am
Full Name: Simon Lord

Re: Using Backup Exec to backup Veeam files

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:59 am 1 person likes this post

I believe the answer is yes, the files will be locked by BE and a backup job won't be able to proceed. You can double check it with BE representatives, though. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Using Backup Exec to backup Veeam files

Veeam Logoby siravarice » Mon Feb 09, 2015 11:14 am

Ok thanks!
siravarice
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:47 am
Full Name: Simon Lord

Re: Using Backup Exec to backup Veeam files

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 09, 2015 11:23 am

You're welcome. Kindly, contact us, if any other questions arise.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Using Backup Exec to backup Veeam files

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:23 pm

Simon,
Provocative question – is there a specific reason why you are not using Veeam built in tape functionality to put Veeam backups to tape?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests