Using multiple drives parallel

Everything about backing up to tape

Using multiple drives parallel

Veeam Logoby PatrickS1 » Tue Aug 12, 2014 8:18 am

Hello everyone

If I have two or more tape drives but only a single job it will only use a single drive?
To speed things up I would need to create multiple job so that each job can use one drive?
I just wanted confirmation on this. I guess it is not possible that a single Job is able control multiple drives in parallel?

Regards
Patrick
PatrickS1
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:54 pm
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Using multiple drives parallel

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Aug 12, 2014 8:34 am

PatrickS1 wrote:If I have two or more tape drives but only a single job it will only use a single drive?

Correct.

PatrickS1 wrote:To speed things up I would need to create multiple job so that each job can use one drive?

Multiple jobs pointed to different media pools.

PatrickS1 wrote:I guess it is not possible that a single Job is able control multiple drives in parallel?

Correct.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] : Tape Parallel Processing

Veeam Logoby cookiejc » Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:18 pm

Hi, I've seen some older posts on this but thought i'd ask in case anything's changed.

We are configuring tape backups using Veeam Enterprise Plus for one of our isolated environments. We have configured 4 media pools (Week 1 to 3 and a monthly pool) and a tape backup job which backs up multiple Veeam jobs. I was hoping when the tape backup job kicked off it would process more than one Veeam backup job at once and use multiple drives (We have a 4 x LTO5 drive library) but it is only using one

Is there a way to set Veeam to process the other jobs within the same Tape job using multiple drives?

many thanks,
cookiejc
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:15 pm
Full Name: J Cook

Re: Using multiple drives parallel

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:43 pm

Is there a way to set Veeam to process the other jobs within the same Tape job using multiple drives?

Currently, not. The feature is on our radar, though.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Using multiple drives parallel

Veeam Logoby cookiejc » Fri Mar 13, 2015 3:02 pm

Thanks for the quick response. Can you advise what is best practice then in order to fully utilize all four drives?
cookiejc
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:15 pm
Full Name: J Cook

Re: Using multiple drives parallel

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Mar 13, 2015 4:17 pm

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Using multiple drives parallel

Veeam Logoby cookiejc » Fri Mar 13, 2015 4:33 pm

Ok, thanks... setting up this environment was in part a trial of using the enterprise plus features on a smaller scale before we look at the expense of purchasing / implementing on our main environment (100+ sockets)

The main environment has 2 z 16 drive tape libraries. Having a media pool and job per drive doesn't really sound like a scalable enterprise solution unless I'm missing something?
cookiejc
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:15 pm
Full Name: J Cook

Re: Using multiple drives parallel

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:10 pm

The main environment has 2 z 16 drive tape libraries. Having a media pool and job per drive doesn't really sound like a scalable enterprise solution unless I'm missing something?

Unfortunately, that’s the way it works in the current implementation, but we are going to improve in one of the next major releases for sure.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Using multiple drives parallel

Veeam Logoby cookiejc » Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:14 am

That is really unfortunate. I like Veeam BR a lot and have been pushing for expanding it's use in our organization but having now purchased an Enterprise license I am disappointed to discover that it is so limited in enterprise features. I guess this is something to take up with our account manager rather than on these forums

Do you have any timescales for implementing better support for multiple drives / libraries?
cookiejc
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:15 pm
Full Name: J Cook

Re: Using multiple drives parallel

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Mar 16, 2015 9:04 am

No ETA at the moment. We can only say that we do consider improving the current implementation in future.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests