V7 File copy to tape job.

Everything about backing up to tape

V7 File copy to tape job.

Veeam Logoby Hevros » Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:55 pm

Hi,

I am trying to understand the file copy to tape job.

I have a physical server which is available under managed servers and I setup a file copy to tape job and selected a drive on the server to be included.
The job runs and says successful but copied nothing!!

all I want is a flat file copy of the contents of the drive to tape but it does nothing.
Am I missing something?
Hevros
Service Provider
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:09 pm
Full Name: Stephen Seagrave

Re: V7 File copy to tape job.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:12 pm

Hi, Stephen. It’s certainly not expected behavior. Therefore, kindly, open a ticket with our support team and let them investigate it directly. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: V7 File copy to tape job.

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:28 pm

Stephen,

Please do not forget to attach Veeam logs to the case, as well as update this thread with the case number so we could track this case as well.
Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: V7 File copy to tape job.

Veeam Logoby Hevros » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:39 pm

Hi,

I didn't manage to get to a support case but I found the issue,

The tape library was offline.
now I know it cant copy to tape if the drive or library is offline but I only saw that by going into backup infrastructure,
I would expect to see an error somewhere and the job to fail.
I rebooted the drive and it is now running,
but it worries me that should it go offline again Veeam will say the job is successful.
Hevros
Service Provider
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:09 pm
Full Name: Stephen Seagrave

Re: V7 File copy to tape job.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:17 pm

QC team has just confirmed that it’s known issue and that, according to plan, it should be fixed in the upcoming patches.

Nevertheless, the issue itself is related only to the situation when library has become offline prior to the job execution. Meanwhile, if library goes offline during the job run, the job will certainly fail with the corresponding error.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests