V7 Patch 3 duplicating tape

Everything about backing up to tape

V7 Patch 3 duplicating tape

Veeam Logoby scott.anderson » Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:20 am

Have upgraded a couple of Veeam 7 installations this week with patch3.

Both times the installation using IBM TS3100 tape libraries.

Both times Veeam has detected the old config of the library as off line (including all of the tape pools) and created a new instance of the tape library@!

The existing tape jobs then fail as the library that they are referencing is "offline".

I've worked round it by creating new tape pools for the tape jobs on the new instance and then manually adding all of the tapes back into the corresponding pools (with a catalog job to pick up the data catalog).

Just wondering if anyone else has see this? Ans is there a less time consuming way to get all of the tapes back into use?
scott.anderson
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:48 am
Full Name: Scott Anderson

Re: V7 Patch 3 duplicating tape

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Feb 21, 2014 6:00 am

Scott, this looks like the known issue, please review the following KB article: http://www.veeam.com/kb1858. Probably, the provided solution would require less effort to get back on the track.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: V7 Patch 3 duplicating tape

Veeam Logoby HussainMahfood » Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:00 am 1 person likes this post

thanks foggy for the link. it solved my issue.

just opened a case for this issue above.

I will close it now because of this great forum.
HussainMahfood
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:43 am
Full Name: Hussain Mahfood

Re: V7 Patch 3 duplicating tape

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:01 am

You're welcome, thanks for confirming the solution has worked for you.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: V7 Patch 3 duplicating tape

Veeam Logoby hmshih » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:35 pm

We have "backup to tape" problem since day one (version 7). I am wondering the Veeam software is just not working well with tape by default. anybody has the similar experiences?
hmshih
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:29 pm
Full Name: Henry Shih

Re: V7 Patch 3 duplicating tape

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:52 pm 1 person likes this post

Your observation is correct. v7 is literally "day 1" of backup to tape functionality. As with any new functionality, it takes some time to stabilize and catch issues which are impossible to reproduce in testing. Besides, tape is unique in the way that the amount of different tape devices is totally immense (and each device will have its own problems and peculiarities). Vast majority of issues we had to deal with so far were device-specific.

At this point however (as of Patch #3), we are happy with the support load on tape related support cases, and can conclude that the stabilization period is over for the most part. The above is one of two remaining annoying issues that slipped into the latest build, we are planning to address them with the newer Patch #3a build.

Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: V7 Patch 3 duplicating tape

Veeam Logoby lwarrenkc » Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:22 pm 1 person likes this post

The fix worked for us as well. We just applied Patch 3 and our Tape Lib did the same thing. We have a Dell TL2000 which shows up in Veeam as a IBM 3573-TL C.30. I followed the KB instructions and it cleared up the issue with no problem. Thanks for having these great posts out here. Veeam Rocks!
lwarrenkc
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:02 pm
Full Name: Lee Warren

Re: V7 Patch 3 duplicating tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:10 am

Thank you, Lee, for confirming that the fix solved the issue for you; highly appreciated.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests