Veeam 7 tape and verify

Everything about backing up to tape

Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby dlieshout@client.nl » Sun Aug 25, 2013 3:23 pm 2 people like this post

Tape-offload works fine and fast in our environment.

But what about a verify of the tape. I can not find anything about that.
Is it not implemented or will it be added in feature release?
dlieshout@client.nl
Service Provider
 
Posts: 42
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:41 pm
Full Name: DaLi

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 26, 2013 9:08 am

The best idead in this case would be to verify source backup files prior to copying them to tape appliance. In order to do it, you might want to run SureBackup jobs first and only then copy given backup files to tape.

Otherwise, you can restore a backup file from a tape media, import it to a backup console and use it, then, a source for an application group that will be verified within a SureBackup job.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13295
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby dlieshout@client.nl » Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:38 pm

Yes, but still I do not know if the job is writing rubbish to the tape. Only a restore and test it will verify that the tape was written right.
dlieshout@client.nl
Service Provider
 
Posts: 42
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:41 pm
Full Name: DaLi

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:48 pm

There is currently no tape verify function in V7 but I do believe that this feature is being considered for a future version. I remember the days when verify operations were quite common, but modern tape devices have become quite reliable, and many "tape" devices are actually VTL appliances backed by disks so I don't see a lot of customers running verify jobs anymore. Many customers simply don't have to time to get it done. Still, I know some companies have policies that even require verification so I agree it's something I'd like to see added going forward.
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4773
Liked: 1740 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby dannythake » Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:33 am

Is this available yet?

I've just found the horror of trying to restore from tape, and finding that they are corrupt
dannythake
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 8:41 am
Full Name: Danny Thake

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:25 am

Hello Danny,
It’s in the long term feature list and won’t be available in the next release. If you have any issues with restores, it’s worth checking with support team.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby dannythake » Thu Apr 23, 2015 8:31 am

Thanks Dima,

I have to say that this is a real oversight on Veeams part. Offloading backup files to tapes is pretty useless if there is no way to verify that those files are recoverable, as we have just found. Backups files on disk are absolutely fine, but when sent to tape they're unusable. We waited for the tape functionality in v7 before moving from a different vendor to veeam, and this has caused some serious concern in our Backup/DR plans.

We are now at a point where we cant trust the Veeam tape jobs, and will likely need to spend further money to buy a separate solution to do this. Really, really disappointing.
dannythake
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 8:41 am
Full Name: Danny Thake

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby dlieshout@client.nl » Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:19 am 1 person likes this post

I agree with Danny. For Veeam the Tape Job is something they did not want to build in but for many customers the Tape Job is a "must have" for there rescue-procedures.
So please Veeam, you do a lot of very good work, place this feature higher at the list.
dlieshout@client.nl
Service Provider
 
Posts: 42
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:41 pm
Full Name: DaLi

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:33 am

I have to say that this is a real oversight on Veeams part. Offloading backup files to tapes is pretty useless if there is no way to verify that those files are recoverable, as we have just found.

Did you open a case with our support regarding inability to restore from tapes? Was it confirmed to be drive/library specific problem or something? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13295
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby dannythake » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:43 pm

Hi Vlad,

Ticket was raised this morning, after further unsuccessful restores from this weekends backup. Logs have been sent
dannythake
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 8:41 am
Full Name: Danny Thake

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:58 pm

Are only tape backups affected? Or both disk and tape backups seems to be unrecoverable? Can you also post a ticket number, so that we can follow the case?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13295
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby dannythake » Mon Apr 27, 2015 4:02 pm

Yes, only tape backups affected. Disk backups successfully restore at the production site. Raised ticket 00890328 - I have an engineer calling me tomorrow to discuss further.

For info, the errors we are getting are:

Code: Select all
4/27/2015 1:09:10 PM          Processing started at Monday, April 27, 2015 1:09:09 PM
4/27/2015 1:09:14 PM          Drive 1 (Drive ID: Tape0) locked successfully
4/27/2015 1:09:15 PM          Performing inventory for tape in Drive 1 (Drive ID: Tape0)
4/27/2015 1:09:37 PM          Reading tape Tape 1 catalog
4/27/2015 1:09:38 PM          Moving tape Tape 1 to media pool Imported
4/27/2015 1:10:57 PM Error    Failed to scan tape Tape 1 catalog:  Error: bad allocation
4/27/2015 1:10:57 PM Error    Failed to scan tape Tape 1 Error: bad allocation
4/27/2015 1:10:57 PM          Reading tape metadata
4/27/2015 1:10:57 PM Error    Completed with error at Monday, April 27, 2015 1:10:57 PM


This happens across nearly all tapes. Tapes were new last near so nowhere near there MTBF. At this stage i cannot rule out an actual Drive problem, but i will know either way when i do a test restore in the morning at the production site. We only started getting this problem at v8, of which we had to apply some custom dll's in order to get it to backup correctly. We did multiple restore on v7 without issue. Again, it may not be relevant, but thats my observation.
dannythake
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 8:41 am
Full Name: Danny Thake

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Apr 28, 2015 9:26 am

Your problem might not be necessarily related to backup unrecoverability, but to allocation of required amount of memory during catalogue. We have a regkey forcing start of 64-bit component on tape server; it might be helpful in your case. I'll try to approach your engineer and share the said key with him; let's see whether or not it applies to your problem.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13295
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby dannythake » Tue Apr 28, 2015 9:30 am

Vlad,

Thanks for the info. Now here's something interesting, I managed to find a backup tape that was created by v7 around 12 months ago, stuck it in the drive at the DR site and it restored successfully!

Now the strange part, if I put the most recent tapes into our production multi-loader (the same machine that put them onto tape), they catalog correctly and restore correctly. My gut feeling is that this is actually due to the custom dll we were provided to resolve a different tape issue.

I have a call with engineer in 2 hours, so will mention patch 2 as suggested. For the record, its still a +1 on the Verify feature in a future release 8)
dannythake
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 8:41 am
Full Name: Danny Thake

Re: Veeam 7 tape and verify

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:55 am

We've worked in close collaboration with your support engineer and our QA and dev teams to identify the root cause of the experienced behaviour.

We were able to find out the problem, and are going to implement a private fix for you. For now, be aware to update to Update 2, as private fix when it's ready will be applicable to that version.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13295
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests