Veeam Backup to Tape including Veeam Configuration backup?

Everything about backing up to tape

Veeam Backup to Tape including Veeam Configuration backup?

Veeam Logoby scott.anderson » Mon Aug 26, 2013 9:55 am

I've got a tape backup job that is setup to backup the main backup repository (rather than individual jobs).
The Veeam Configuration Backup is set to go to the same repository.

but I can't see the Veeam Configuration being picked up by the tape job? Nor can I see it on the list of data on the tape.

Is there a way to include the Veeam Configuration other that setting up its own File to Tape job as its only 10Mb in size.
scott.anderson
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:48 am
Full Name: Scott Anderson

Re: Veeam Backup to Tape including Veeam Configuration backu

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:30 am

The only option you have is to utilize files to tape job, since even in case of choosing repository as target for backup to tape job only .vbk/vib files will be copied to tape appliance, while, files produced by configuration backup will be skipped.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Backup to Tape including Veeam Configuration backu

Veeam Logoby scott.anderson » Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:23 am

Feature request! Include the Veeam Configuration Backups in the Repository backup!

Its a bit daft that you can do it with BackExec but you can't do it with Veeam!! :roll:
scott.anderson
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:48 am
Full Name: Scott Anderson

Re: Veeam Backup to Tape including Veeam Configuration backu

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:35 am

I’ve already passed this information to the responsible person. So, thank you for the feedback; much appreciated.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Backup to Tape including Veeam Configuration backu

Veeam Logoby mcafeej » Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:45 pm

I seriously hate to bump a post more than 2 years old but this same issue has affected me.

Recently my backup server lost multiple drives at the same time and was not able to recover and I lost my backup configuration, I didn't consider it horrible since I "thought" my configuration was on tape. After replacing the disks, raid, os, drivers, etc and installing Veeam I found out that the configuration was not on tape. It would of been nice to have all the little details of my tape inventory and backup jobs saved but guess not!

Anyway I would really like to see the ability to include the configuration backups in the "Backup to Tape" jobs and not just creating a new "File to Tape" job and have a whole another set of media. The main reason now why I don't use the "File to Tape" jobs to do the backup is on some jobs I only do Full backup and not Incremental backups for Monthly/Yearly archiving kind of like a GFS backup.

A GFS backup job for tapes would be great too, just make things a little easier the larger a infrastructure gets and multiple backup jobs.
mcafeej
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:03 pm
Full Name: Jesse McAfee

Re: Veeam Backup to Tape including Veeam Configuration backu

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:49 am

For now files to tape job copying configuration backup is the only option you have. As to tape GFS functionality, it will be added in the version 9. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] : Configuration Backup to tape

Veeam Logoby brianca » Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:35 pm

Once the Configuration backup lands on disk. I want to append those backup files to a tape that has already been used in a Backup to tape job. What I have found is even if I add the Configuration Backup repository to the Backup to tape job it does not pick that Configuration backup repository up and place those Configuration Backup files to tape.

I know I can create a File to Tape job to compensate for this issue, but I waste the vast capacity of the tape since the Configuration Backup files are not very big.

Any thoughts or work arounds for this scenario?

Thanks,
Brian
brianca
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Veeam Backup to Tape including Veeam Configuration backu

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:59 pm

Any thoughts or work arounds for this scenario?

Nope. At the moment usage of files to tape job is still required, if you want to place configuration backups on tapes. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Backup to Tape including Veeam Configuration backu

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:47 pm

Actually, this is not a big deal and as said a thousand times before, I would prefer to use File To Tape Jobs, as there I can include, whatever files I want, but unfortunately the schedule Option 'After this job' is missing in File to Tape Jobs.

So, there is still room for improvement. There are so many requests here, I wonder, if this option will be added in the next update to 9.0 ?

Regards,
Didi7
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: apur321 and 12 guests