Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Everything about backing up to tape

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Dec 04, 2013 10:05 am

Moses,

Could you, please, confirm: you have problems, backing up 4TB VM over iSCSI? Any errors/warnings generated by tape job? Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby mlucien » Wed Dec 04, 2013 10:51 pm

Deleting the 4TB job, data and starting over.
mlucien
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:18 pm
Full Name: Moses Lucien

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 05, 2013 11:22 am

Moses,
Please, make sure you have the lastest available patch R2A for Veeam v7. We will await for your results, thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby mlucien » Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:58 pm

I have the lastest patch
I deleted all backups from Disk for that job
I ran a full backup successfully to disk
Running the backup to tape SAYS successful but there is nothing on the disk.
- Copied 0 of 0 files
- takes 4 minutes
-
All my other jobs are set up the same way and they all run fine to disk then to tape.
- Smaller jobs are 1.1 TB or smaller.
mlucien
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:18 pm
Full Name: Moses Lucien

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:40 pm

Moses,
This seems to be an issue then, and no doubts it needs to be deeply investigated by support team. Could you, please, open support case and provide all the troubleshooting info? Please, also update this thread with the case ID, thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby mlucien » Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:41 pm

Seemed that the veeam installer service was holding onto the vbm files so backups were failing.
mlucien
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:18 pm
Full Name: Moses Lucien

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 13, 2013 11:44 am

So, are you up and running now?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby paps40 » Mon Dec 16, 2013 9:07 pm 1 person likes this post

I had the same exact problem using Veeam 7 R2 and a Dell TL2000 running on Server 2012. Using the install_nonexclusive.exe driver from dell fixed my issue. The driver is a part of the 7NH5M_ZPE.exe driver file once you extract it. Dell support was useless in fixing this issue. The dell support tech even mentioned to me that he has never heard of veeam. I hung up on him shortly after that statement. :)

I used this post to fix my issue so I wanted to reply back and say thanks to everyone.
paps40
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:10 pm
Full Name: Peter Pappas

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Dec 16, 2013 9:14 pm

Peter,

Thank you very much for posting this update to the forums.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby paps40 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:05 pm

Dell TL2000 & Veeam Tape Job Compression Issues

Has anyone been able to use the drive compression on the Dell TL2000 successfully. All of my veeam full backup files total 3.7 TB and they are not fitting on 1 tape. It takes 2 tapes. In theory LTO6 is supposed to hold 2.5TB Native and 6.25 TB of compressed data. I have turned off compression on the veeam backup jobs and enabled Use hardware compression if available on the veeam tape backup job. In theory this should tell the library to compress the uncompressed veeam full backup files but it is not working like it should.

I entered tickets with both Dell and Veeam. Dell said that compression is on by default, some files don't compress well and also to get with veeam. Veeam told me to make sure that compression was enabled on the dell side, check job settings, and get with dell. Job settings were correct.

Does anyone have any thoughts on why this doesn't work? Is this working for anyone else? Please advise.

Thanks.
paps40
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:10 pm
Full Name: Peter Pappas

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:03 am

How much data are you getting on a tape? Less than 2.5TB? Also, after you turned off compression on the Veeam jobs did you run a new active full backup?
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4768
Liked: 1737 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby paps40 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:37 am

I am getting 2.3 TB on each tape. I filled the TL2000 with 20 tapes but was not aware that the veeam tape jobs will write every full backup file to tape that is located in the repository. I assumed it would only write the latest backup.

Yes, I ran full backups during the week after changing the compression settings. This is the 3rd active full that ran after I changed the settings. I do 1 active full each weekend.

I also did a test today (new files to tape job) backing up a test share full of generic user data and it did not compress it. Share was 37.4 GB and the job shows it transferred 37.4 GB at 1 MB/s. My normal veeam active fulls to tape process at 145 MB/s.

Could this be a bug?
paps40
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:10 pm
Full Name: Peter Pappas

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:49 am

It's possible it could be a bug, at least the issue with not putting enough data on tape. Certainly you should open a support case and have it looked into. Unless the data in the Veeam backup is completely compressible (for example a file server that's already using Windows 2012 dedupe or using NTFS compression) I would expect to get at least some compression.

Running a file backup is going to show that 37.4GB is transferred since it's the tape drive doing the compression, not Veeam, so I would expect this. Also, it's a known issue that backup of files is very slow.
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4768
Liked: 1737 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:07 am

paps40 wrote:I assumed it would only write the latest backup.

With the current implementation, all the full backups that are stored in the given directory will be archived to tapes by backup to tape job. Though, after initial run, only new files will be transferred to tape mediums.

Also, you can use certain workarounds to copy only the latest full backup.

Moreover, we consider adding this functionality in one of the next product releases.

Share was 37.4 GB and the job shows it transferred 37.4 GB at 1 MB/s. My normal veeam active fulls to tape process at 145 MB/s.

Yep, nowadays file to tape jobs can't boast with exceptional speed in case of copying many small files, as this type of the job was designed with different use case in mind. According to plan, speed improvements will be introduced in the next major release.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby paps40 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:41 pm

Thanks. I don't like the idea of running that PS script because it could cause issues if you are not extra careful. A better approach in my opinion would be to carve up the storage to have a hot landing zone for current backups 7 days or so and a long term archive. Tape jobs can process the latest full from the landing zone. Archive volume can be deduplicated 24/7 with server 2012 dedup. I will have to reconfigure my veeam server and move TB's of data off but it might fix my issues long term. The file to tape speed is very disappointing but at least you will address it in a future release.

New Question on Tape Rotation
What happens during tape swap out / rotation? How does veeam handle that? During my testing, every time I tried to re-use a tape by deleting it veeam re-wrote all active fulls again. Just curious how this works with a tape rotation re-using old backup tapes. For example, if I have a 60 day retention on my repository and 8 active fulls what will happen when I re-use tapes or rotate them out. Will veeam see that some active fulls are missing an re-write them. Is it best to not delete tapes so veeam sees that the old backup is on there and it can rewrite them. I'm going with the approach above but am curious to see how this works as I have not tested it yet.

Thanks.
paps40
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:10 pm
Full Name: Peter Pappas

PreviousNext

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dima P. and 10 guests