Veeam Tape Inventory

Everything about backing up to tape

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby SFP » Thu Apr 24, 2014 4:17 pm

Hello,

I did the following actions to backup files to tape. I would know if it is the correct way as you suggested.

    Import medium: I move manually through the tape library web tool one tape from magazine to the drive.
    Inventory medium: I click right button over the tape drive and I select Inventory Drive option. The cartridge tape appears as online and it is put in free media pool. I assign this tape to a media pool called Monday for example.
Then I move backup this tape from drive to magazine through tape library web tool and I repeat the same process for other 4 tapes.

I move the tape 1 (for exemple) from the magazine to the drive and I inventory medium again. Now I can see in Media, tape 1 online and the other tapes offline. I launch the job which has to write in the tape 1 and everything goes well. Then, once the previous backup job finishes, if I try to launch the job which has to write in the tape 2, I expect that tape 1 moves from drive to magazine and tape 2 moves from magazine to drive and the job starts to write. Actually what happens is that job remains waiting for a correct tape and it does nothing.

This behaviour means that every day I have to move manually each tape through the tape library web tool?

Thanks in advance.
SFP
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:52 am
Full Name: Sergio Ferreiro

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:09 am

Does "eject media once the job finishes" option (tape job settings) make any difference? With this option enabled, the tape medium should be automatically ejected, once the job is finished. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby hgrams » Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:28 pm

Hello, I have problems with your suggestion:

Code: Select all
foreach ($Drive in Get-VBRTapeDrive)
{
$Drive.TapeMedium | Start-VBRTapeInventory
}


I have a single drive. When I insert a tape and execute the command "Get-VBRTapeDrive", I get always the result:

Code: Select all
PS E:\scripts> Get-VBRTapeDrive


IsLocked           : False
Model              : Tandberg Data LTO-6 drive
SerialNumber       : HU140512BB
State              : Empty
LoadedMedia        :
DeviceId           : c8694de6-77c5-4652-a7cb-99ce2791aacc
EnabledByUser      : True
Enabled            : True
Library            : Tandberg Data LTO-6 drive
Address            : 0
Location           : Veeam.Tape.Model.TapeMediumLocation
LoadedTapeMediumId : 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000
TapeMedium         :
InternalState      : Veeam.Tape.Model.DbTapeDrive


The state is "Empty" and the value "TapeMedium" is empty. When I start a "Tape Inventory" via Veeam console, then the tape will be recognized and then the state is "Loaded" with a valid "TapeMedium" name.

What am I doing wrong?
hgrams
Service Provider
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:28 pm
Full Name: Harald Grams

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:49 pm

Are you positive that the medium is actually inserted inside the drive? I'm wondering because from PS perspective, it looks like there is no cassette in the given drive. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby hgrams » Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:45 am

Yes I'm sure that the medium is in the drive because the the tape inventory process initiated by the Veeam GUI reports that a tape is inserted and the given name for that. I was wondering that the Veeam has no information that a tape is inserted because I read that Veeam should poll a drive every 30 seconds. Why is the status "Empty" instead "Loaded".
hgrams
Service Provider
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:28 pm
Full Name: Harald Grams

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jun 19, 2014 9:02 am

Not sure what can be the reason, as both Powershell snapin and GUI operate with the same internal information. What product version you're using?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby hgrams » Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:49 am

7.0 Patch 4
hgrams
Service Provider
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:28 pm
Full Name: Harald Grams

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:01 am

Then, it might be worth opening a ticket with the support team and asking them to find the root cause of such inconsistency. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby hgrams » Thu Jun 19, 2014 1:33 pm

Thank you for your support.
hgrams
Service Provider
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:28 pm
Full Name: Harald Grams

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jun 19, 2014 1:50 pm

Once ticket is opened, please, update the topic with its number, so that, we can follow the case. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby hgrams » Tue Jun 24, 2014 9:07 am

The ticket is open Case # 00588503.
hgrams
Service Provider
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:28 pm
Full Name: Harald Grams

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jun 24, 2014 9:19 am

Just out of curiosity - what happens if you try to get rid of "drive" part completely, and get the tape medium by barcode first, and only then perform tape inventory. Will this work? Also, how many drive you have? Just one?

Code: Select all
$Medium  = Get-VBRTapeMedium -Name "Name or barcorde of given medium"
$Medium | Start-VBRTapeInventory


Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby hgrams » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:52 am

Hi Vladimir

Nice idea, but unfortunately, it doesn't work :-(

1.
Code: Select all
PS E:\scripts> $Medium  = Get-VBRTapeMedium -Name "Tape 1"
PS E:\scripts> write $Medium


Id                            : 626962cd-2cee-4d4c-b8d6-da2685bfe39a
Barcode                       :
MediaPoolId                   : 27735435-6268-41dd-89ed-e1dfd457ec3c
MediaId                       : bb115f49-a44d-4d15-a040-51680c3497ac
Name                          : Tape 1
DisplayName                   : Tape 1
Description                   :
CapacityString                : 2,4 TB
FreeString                    : 482,6 GB
MediaFamilyId                 : 1403425810
MediaSequenceNumber           : 1
MediaTime                     : 23.06.2014 08:33:23
Continuation                  : False
Location                      : Veeam.Tape.Model.TapeMediumLocation
LocationEx                    : Offline
OriginalSlot                  :
Capacity                      : 2620446998528
Remaining                     : 518229327872
BlockSize                     : 131072
PartitionCount                : 1
IsWriteProtected              : False
IsFree                        : False
IsFull                        : False
IsInSlot                      : False
IsOnline                      : False
IsOffline                     : True
FormatLogicalAddress          : 0
LastWriteTime                 : 23.06.2014 08:31:50
Retired                       : False
Cleaner                       : False
HasMediaId                    : True
HasMediaFamilyId              : True
HasBarcode                    : False
MediaLabel                    : MTF Media Label|1.0|Veeam|Backup & Replication
                                7.0|2014.06.22.08:30:10|Veeam 2014.06.22.08:30:
                                10|1|{bb115f49-a44d-4d15-a040-51680c3497ac}||
IsBelongUnrecognizedMediaPool : False
IsBelongImportedMediaPool     : False
IsBelongFreeMediaPool         : False
IsBelongUserMediaPool         : True
IsLocked                      : False
MediaFamilyItem               : Veeam.Tape.Core.MediaFamilyItem


2.
Code: Select all
PS E:\scripts> $Medium | Start-VBRTapeInventory


SessionInfo          : Veeam.Backup.Model.CBaseSessionInfo
Id                   : 00c4ec8c-7c15-4968-9456-67149da84db2
JobType              : TapeInventory
JobName              : Tape library inventorization
Name                 : Tape library inventorization
JobSpec              : <TapeInventorySpec><LibraryId>00000000-0000-0000-0000-00
                       0000000000</LibraryId><TapeIds><TapeId>626962cd-2cee-4d4
                       c-b8d6-da2685bfe39a</TapeId></TapeIds><Operation>Invento
                       ry</Operation></TapeInventorySpec>
JobTypeString        : Tape inventory
Operation            :
Description          :
BaseProgress         : 0
IsCompleted          : True
IsWorking            : False
JobId                : d7efefeb-0838-47ca-93f6-61540044f014
Result               : Success
State                : Stopped
EndTime              : 24.06.2014 13:41:02
CreationTime         : 24.06.2014 13:41:01
AuxData              :
IsLowerAgentPriority : False
LogName              : Job.Tape_library_inventorization
LogsSubFolder        :
Logger               : Veeam.Backup.Core.XmlLogger
Tracer               : Veeam.Backup.Core.CSessionLogTracer


3.
Code: Select all
PS E:\scripts> Get-VBRTapeDrive


IsLocked           : False
Model              : Tandberg Data LTO-6 drive
SerialNumber       : HU140512BB
State              : Empty
LoadedMedia        :
DeviceId           : c8694de6-77c5-4652-a7cb-99ce2791aacc
EnabledByUser      : True
Enabled            : True
Library            : Tandberg Data LTO-6 drive
Address            : 0
Location           : Veeam.Tape.Model.TapeMediumLocation
LoadedTapeMediumId : 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000
TapeMedium         :
InternalState      : Veeam.Tape.Model.DbTapeDrive


Shows the same problem, the drive state is still "Empty". To crosscheck this, I started the Tape Inventory via Veeam GUI --> It worked. After that the drive status is "Loaded".
hgrams
Service Provider
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:28 pm
Full Name: Harald Grams

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:35 pm

The strange thing is that the given tape is shown as offline. What if you try to list online mediums? Will there be any?

Code: Select all
Get-VBRTapeMedium | where {$_.isonline -eq $true}


Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam Tape Inventory

Veeam Logoby hgrams » Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:07 pm

When I execute this command, the result string is empty.
Then I execute the Tape Inventory via Veeam GUI, the output is:

Code: Select all
PS E:\scripts> Get-VBRTapeMedium | where {$_.isonline -eq $true}


Id                            : f06a465f-16e5-4e46-90b6-77ad6fba3b34
Barcode                       :
MediaPoolId                   : 27735435-6268-41dd-89ed-e1dfd457ec3c
MediaId                       : 0b0f5799-5f3c-49bc-924d-a0544fc8fd63
Name                          : Tape 7
DisplayName                   : Tape 7
Description                   :
CapacityString                : 2,4 TB
FreeString                    : 469,4 GB
MediaFamilyId                 : 1403084352
MediaSequenceNumber           : 1
MediaTime                     : 18.06.2014 07:39:25
Continuation                  : False
Location                      : Veeam.Tape.Model.TapeMediumLocation
LocationEx                    : Drive 1 (Tape0)
OriginalSlot                  :
Capacity                      : 2620446998528
Remaining                     : 503999102976
BlockSize                     : 131072
PartitionCount                : 1
IsWriteProtected              : False
IsFree                        : False
IsFull                        : False
IsInSlot                      : False
IsOnline                      : True
IsOffline                     : False
FormatLogicalAddress          : 0
LastWriteTime                 : 18.06.2014 14:24:03
Retired                       : False
Cleaner                       : False
HasMediaId                    : True
HasMediaFamilyId              : True
HasBarcode                    : False
MediaLabel                    : MTF Media Label|1.0|Veeam|Backup & Replication
                                7.0|2014.06.18.09:39:12|Veeam 2014.06.18.09:39:
                                12|1|{0b0f5799-5f3c-49bc-924d-a0544fc8fd63}||
IsBelongUnrecognizedMediaPool : False
IsBelongImportedMediaPool     : False
IsBelongFreeMediaPool         : False
IsBelongUserMediaPool         : True
IsLocked                      : False
MediaFamilyItem               : Veeam.Tape.Core.MediaFamilyItem


What I don't understand is, what does the Veeam GUI command different to the command set via Powershell?
hgrams
Service Provider
 
Posts: 47
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:28 pm
Full Name: Harald Grams

PreviousNext

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests