Waiting on tape

Everything about backing up to tape

Waiting on tape

Veeam Logoby JeremyS132 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 2:56 pm

I have a backup to tape job that is run by script to only grab the latest .vbk's from a certain set of servers. The issue that I am running into is that the job needs 8 tapes to complete. I have inserted 8 tapes. The job first deletes the tapes, and then assigns them to my tape pool. The job is currently stuck waiting on another tape. I can see from the Online tapes that 7 of them have been written to and tape 8 has 1.4 TB free out of 1.4. Any ideas why Veeam isn't using the tape that is available?

1/10/2015 7:23:16 PM :: Current tape is 003077
1/11/2015 12:40:32 AM :: Tape 003077 is full
1/11/2015 12:40:50 AM :: Insert a valid tape into the library, oldest retained tape: 003028, last written tape: 003077

We are running Veeam V7 and are running the latest patch.
JeremyS132
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 2:40 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Schwarzrock

Re: Waiting on tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Jeremy,
Did you add the said tapes to the media pool (thru the Media Pool > Tapes step) or its not taking the previously used media? Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Waiting on tape

Veeam Logoby JeremyS132 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:21 pm

d.popov wrote:Jeremy,
Did you add the said tapes to the media pool (thru the Media Pool > Tapes step) or its not taking the previously used media? Thank you.


d.popov,

Thanks for your reply. The tapes are automatically added by the script that is called (not full script)

Code: Select all
"# Name of TAPE Job created in VEEAM. The job should backup the content specified in $linkpath
$JobName = "Tape Backups"

# Name of Media Pool were tapes should reside
$PoolName = "Tape Backups""

#Veeam Snap-in
Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapin
# Erase Tape
Start-Sleep -s 5
Get-VBRTapeMedium | Erase-VBRTapeMedium  -Confirm:$false
# Inventory Tape
Get-VBRTapeMedium | Start-VBRTapeInventory
# Move online tape to pool
$tape = Get-VBRTapeMedium | Where-Object {$_.IsOnline -like "True"}
# Inventory Tape
Get-VBRTapeMedium | Start-VBRTapeInventory
# Start the VEEAM backup job created in VEEAM
Start-VBRJob -Job $JobName -FullBackup



I can confirm that all tapes are in the correct Media pool by going to Backup Infrastructure -> Tape -> Tape Drive -> Media -> Online

These are brand new tapes that have never been used with Veeam or anywhere as they are our year end tapes.
JeremyS132
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 2:40 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Schwarzrock

Re: Waiting on tape

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:28 pm 1 person likes this post

Got it. Can you check if replacing the inventory ( Start-VBRTapeInventory ) by catalogue ( Start-VBRTapeCatalog ) operation does the trick?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Waiting on tape

Veeam Logoby JeremyS132 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:02 pm

d.popov wrote:Got it. Can you check if replacing the inventory ( Start-VBRTapeInventory ) by catalogue ( Start-VBRTapeCatalog ) operation does the trick?


I'll change this and see if it corrects the issue. I'll run the job now to see. Thanks!
JeremyS132
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 2:40 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Schwarzrock

Re: Waiting on tape

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:51 am

I have a backup to tape job that is run by script to only grab the latest .vbk's from a certain set of servers.

Am I right in assuming that you're using hard-links for that purpose? Wouldn't it be easier to use synthesized full backup functionality, instead? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests