How media set creation is configured? If you want to success append data to all media in media pool you can use ‘Do not create, always continue using current media set’ option.
According to docs, that won't delete the data on tape, but it will delete catalog information?
Yes. ‘Mark as free’ deletes the catalogue information without deleting the data. That works if you want to start writing to a specific media without performing erase operation.