Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
check4backup
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 22, 2016 6:53 am
Full Name: check4backup
Contact:

Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by check4backup » Jan 30, 2018 10:50 am

Hi,

Tape Devices Support User Guide
December, 2017 - page 150


Restoring Files from Tape
Step 1. Launch the Files from Tape Wizard
To run the Files from Tape wizard, open the Home tab and click Restore on the ribbon. Choose Tape > Restore Files.


There is no tape restore on the ribbon, only Microsoft Hyper-V backup...
Either the documentation is wrong or this is a bug.

Veeam 9.5.0.1536

Many thanks and best regards

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 30, 2018 11:17 am

Do you have a tape server added and at least one tape backup registered on your backup server? Thanks.

check4backup
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 22, 2016 6:53 am
Full Name: check4backup
Contact:

Re: Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by check4backup » Jan 31, 2018 9:08 am

Yes, a tape server is registered. Otherwise it wouldn't matter. There are tape jobs available. The jobs run without problems. By selecting files, I can also restore them. But the wizard cannot be started via the ribbon as described in the documentation.
I only have file-to-tape jobs.

lyapkost
Veeam Software
Posts: 133
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Full Name: Konstantin
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by lyapkost » Feb 01, 2018 8:20 am

Hi. Thanks for noticing, I can confirm it, the file from tape restore option is hidden in the ribbon unless you have at least one backup on tapes. We'll fix it in future updates. Please use node Files instead of the ribbon.

rm4g00
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 02, 2016 11:58 am
Full Name: RM4G00
Contact:

[MERGED] Restore from tape 9.5.0.1536

Post by rm4g00 » Feb 06, 2018 11:34 am

Restore from tape 9.5.0.1536

Hi.

Does any know how to restore from tape in version 9.5.0.1536 - I used to have this ability now after the update - I no longer can do this ?

Anyone know how?

Thanks
Ross

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Restore from tape 9.5.0.1536

Post by v.Eremin » Feb 06, 2018 12:35 pm

Aren't you talking about this issue by any chance? Thanks.

rm4g00
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 02, 2016 11:58 am
Full Name: RM4G00
Contact:

Re: Restore from tape 9.5.0.1536

Post by rm4g00 » Feb 06, 2018 1:06 pm

Hi.

So how do I go about selecting a file from tape - just select restore from file in general then the restore point and have the tapes inserted?

Do you know when this will be fixed.

Thanks

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by v.Eremin » Feb 06, 2018 1:59 pm

The restore option should be available on the FIles node (on the left).

The issue will be fixed in one of the next product updates.

Thanks.

rm4g00
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 02, 2016 11:58 am
Full Name: RM4G00
Contact:

Re: Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by rm4g00 » Feb 07, 2018 7:06 am

I'm totally blind...I don't know where this is... I only have the ability to restore from restore points not take...can you provide screenshots where this is? And when will this be fixed

rm4g00
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 02, 2016 11:58 am
Full Name: RM4G00
Contact:

Re: Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by rm4g00 » Feb 07, 2018 7:11 am

Apologies

I've found it..thanks for your help

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by v.Eremin » Feb 07, 2018 12:42 pm

You're welcome. Thank you for drawing our attention to this issue, it got tracked already and should be addressed in future updates.

TrevorBell
Expert
Posts: 343
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Feb 13, 2009 10:13 am
Full Name: Trevor Bell
Location: Worcester UK
Contact:

Re: Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by TrevorBell » Aug 03, 2018 8:51 am

Any update when this bug in the gui will be fixed ?

Work around is fine, just want to make sure this is still on the radar to be fixed ;)


Case # 03130099

Thanks

Trev

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Wrong documentation - tape restore

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 03, 2018 9:11 am

Currently, the fix is planned for Update 4. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests