Standalone backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud
Post Reply
jaf
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 13, 2017 6:52 pm
Full Name: Johannes
Contact:

Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by jaf » Feb 11, 2019 11:32 am

Hello,

i use agent V1 for Centos.

At the moment i do backup every day at 18:00.
But i want to do an additional Backup at 12:00 to the SAME destination (backup to Veeam Backup & Replication).

But i can only select one time.

1 have a license for the agernt, this i see on B+R.
But i cannot see on the agent.
When i do "Misc", "License" i do see an license, but i could enter.

is this maybe the reason?

johannes

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5003
Liked: 429 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by P.Tide » Feb 11, 2019 1:18 pm

Hi,

Which license do you have? Please note that multiple jobs are provided in Server edition, and the license should be installed on VBR.
Also, are you still using v1.0.1.364? If so, then have you considered upgrading to the most current one (3.0.0.865)? What is your VBR version?

Thanks!

jaf
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 13, 2017 6:52 pm
Full Name: Johannes
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by jaf » Feb 12, 2019 5:37 am

hello,

still running 1.0.0.944.
on VBR i see 1 linux agent license and accourding to VBR this is used for this agent/server.

>>If so, then have you considered upgrading to the most current one (3.0.0.865)?
not yet, i don't see any necessary feature in the new version and i have no troubles with V1.

johannes

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2467
Liked: 515 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by nielsengelen » Feb 12, 2019 10:38 am

Hi Johannes,

If you run "veeamconfig license show" on your Linux server, it will show which version you are running. If you are running Server mode, you can create an additional backup job.

We do advise you to upgrade your VBR to 9.5 update 4 and VAL to v3 as there have been many enhancements to the products.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

jaf
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 13, 2017 6:52 pm
Full Name: Johannes
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by jaf » Feb 12, 2019 3:47 pm

veeamconfig license show

License information:
Expiration date: 2020/03/13
Grace period date: 2019/03/13
Days left: 394
Status: License is valid.
Mode: Server
Contact name: XXXX
Contact email: XXX@XXX

jaf
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 13, 2017 6:52 pm
Full Name: Johannes
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by jaf » Feb 12, 2019 3:48 pm

so it's server mode...
can i just at a additional time to the job?

an additional job would mean it starts from "zero" again, or?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5003
Liked: 429 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by P.Tide » Feb 12, 2019 4:03 pm

Yes, additional job will start from scratch, i.e. if a new job includes an object that is also present in the other job, then the object will be fully copied.

Also, what do you mean by "additional time"?

Thanks!

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2467
Liked: 515 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by nielsengelen » Feb 12, 2019 8:04 pm

You can create a second job via veeamconfig job create and schedule it as well (or use a crontab).
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

jaf
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 13, 2017 6:52 pm
Full Name: Johannes
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by jaf » Feb 13, 2019 6:12 am

hello,

what i ment:
at the moment there is full backup and 13 incremental backups on the storage.

the result should be 1 full backup and 27 incremental backups on the storage.
when i add an 2nd job, will it be like this?

(i don't want 2 full backups with 13 incremental backups)

johannes

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2467
Liked: 515 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by nielsengelen » Feb 13, 2019 9:26 am

If you want 27 incrementals, you need to modify the existing job and change the number of restore points to 28 instead of 14.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

jaf
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 13, 2017 6:52 pm
Full Name: Johannes
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by jaf » Feb 14, 2019 7:43 am

ok i see, but i can do with 2 second job?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5003
Liked: 429 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by P.Tide » Feb 14, 2019 1:56 pm

Backup chains produced by two jobs are independent. Another thing that you can do is to start the same job twice a day using crontab + command-line

Thanks!

jaf
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 13, 2017 6:52 pm
Full Name: Johannes
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by jaf » Feb 15, 2019 8:43 am

ah, ok i see, THANKS for the info.

so u just add

00 12 * * * root veeamconfig job start --name <job_name>

to /etc/crontab?
this correct/file?
or do i have to to user-specific?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2467
Liked: 515 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by nielsengelen » Feb 15, 2019 11:10 am

I would advise modifying the crontab as root "crontab -e" and edit the file and add:

0 12 * * * veeamconfig job start --name <job_name>
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

jaf
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 13, 2017 6:52 pm
Full Name: Johannes
Contact:

Re: Adding 2nd Backup for 1 day

Post by jaf » Feb 25, 2019 7:14 am

hello,

yes, works for me, thanks!
so this issue is solved
thank you !

johannes

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests