Backup up data on a QNAP

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

Backup up data on a QNAP

Veeam Logoby jandrewartha » Mon Oct 02, 2017 5:10 am

NB: This is about using QNAP as a data source, not as a repository.

I have a remote site that uses a QNAP as a file share. Is it possible to install the Veam Linux agent on the QNAP and back it up directly? Currently I also rsync the data to a separate Debian server, so if not I could just install the agent on that instead.
jandrewartha
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:49 am

Re: Backup up data on a QNAP

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:33 pm

Hi,

Technically it might be possible, however such setup is not supported.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3147
Liked: 262 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Backup up data on a QNAP

Veeam Logoby jmmarton » Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:47 pm

This thread has some information on running our data mover on a QNAP.

https://forums.veeam.com/post198380.html

But as Pavel pointed out, it's not supported, and it sounds like with newer QNAP firmware it may not even work.

Joe
jmmarton
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 894
Liked: 95 times
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Full Name: Joe Marton

Re: Backup up data on a QNAP

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:57 pm

Well, although VAL also deploys its own data mover on the host, it is a little bit different than the data mover from the thread being referenced. Also in order to install VAL on QNAP you'll have to somehow build the veeamsnapkernel module on the QNAP, which might be a tricky thing to do. On the other hand, if you do not require snapshot capabilities, you might want to try using File Copy job. In this case you'll need to specify UNC path as a source.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3147
Liked: 262 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm


Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests