Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud
Post Reply
justin23
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 07, 2014 5:49 am
Full Name: Justin Watson
Contact:

Can't mount backup for restore

Post by justin23 » Aug 30, 2016 3:43 am

I've managed to get a few backups done using the CLI interface. I have a complete server backup, but I couldn't mount the backup to do a restore. I then ran a smaller job to check to see if that was a problem and still can't mount the backup.

Code: Select all

[root@perseus ~]# veeamconfig backup list
Job name      Backup UUID                             Repository   Created at
perseus-boot  {188496ce-deb0-4599-bc1c-e3467f126ad1}  veeambackup  2016-08-26 12:11
perseus       {817065d5-671d-4094-b967-3fd759894882}  veeambackup  2016-08-26 12:16
perseus-all   {7a12d5d0-e2e6-41eb-b925-1ad7ce8efc45}  veeambackup  2016-08-28 14:54
perseus       {06ff9fbe-a52c-4025-aa00-21ae26b0dc8a}  veeambackup  2016-08-28 17:03
perseus-home  {f76fae7c-da2c-48a6-9f63-ca8805c20c28}  veeambackup  2016-08-30 10:31
So the last backup is just of the home folder. Then I try to mount it using the following.

Code: Select all

[root@perseus ~]# veeamconfig backup mount --id f76fae7c-da2c-48a6-9f63-ca8805c20c28 --mountdir /mnt/backup/
Error: Retrieved less bytes from the storage [0] than required [4608]. Offset: [3996383744]. File: [/veeam_backup/perseus-home/perseus-home_2016-08-30T103104.vbk].
Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://RestoreText_{9870ab9b-7834-417c-b5b8-6239fadad840}]. CHMOD mask: [0].
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.RestoreText}.
Failed to mount restore point [{a5daeaa0-0055-4c84-b76a-117d2fc38927}] in directory [/mnt/backup/].
[root@perseus ~]#
The logs show the following

Code: Select all

veeamconfig session log --id 56d7f5da-ea38-422a-bd91-327bab7cfaef
2016-08-30 03:35:58 UTC {b000c36f-aa92-4d1a-a150-7abc90675e00} [info] Job started at 2016-08-30 13:35:58
2016-08-30 03:35:58 UTC {f34e647b-ec21-4788-9b2f-2eaac22cb0c7} [info] Mounting restore point
2016-08-30 03:35:58 UTC {d1eaa8de-5250-41ea-a921-6d184ff31166} [error] Retrieved less bytes from the storage [0] than required [4608]. Offset: [3996383744]. File: [/veeam_backup/perseus-home/perseus-home_2016-08-30T103104.vbk].
--tr:Failed to retrieve V4 data block. Block offset: [3996383744]. Compressed size: [4203]. Original size: [12085].
--tr:Failed to retrieve restore block [0] for file [summary.xml].
--tr:Failed to read block [0] from restore point
--tr:Next asynchronous read request cannot be processed.
--tr:Asynchronous data reader has failed.
--tr:Failed to process conveyored task.
Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://RestoreText_{9870ab9b-7834-417c-b5b8-6239fadad840}]. CHMOD mask: [0].
Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.RestoreText}.
--tr:Backup client has failed to execute command.
--tr:Failed to restore text.
2016-08-30 03:35:58 UTC {a9f79b7a-f71a-4742-a730-0be3379ff267} [error] Failed to mount restore point.
2016-08-30 03:36:02 UTC {1eb3e286-ba16-45e0-848f-b187564198ef} [error] Job failed unexpectedly
any ideas? I've not found anything in this forum

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 2017
Liked: 445 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Can't mount backup for restore

Post by vmniels » Aug 30, 2016 5:36 am

Can you perform the restore via the GUI (veeam)? Or does that fail as well?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

justin23
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 07, 2014 5:49 am
Full Name: Justin Watson
Contact:

Re: Can't mount backup for restore

Post by justin23 » Aug 31, 2016 12:57 am

vmniels wrote:Can you perform the restore via the GUI (veeam)? Or does that fail as well?
Unfortunately I have no gui interface on this server. If i try and run the gui by typing "veeam" i get a black screen.

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 2017
Liked: 445 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Can't mount backup for restore

Post by vmniels » Aug 31, 2016 5:38 am

Today BETA2 will be available. I would suggest trying this one as BETA1 will expire.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4330
Liked: 356 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't mount backup for restore

Post by PTide » Aug 31, 2016 10:10 am

Also please describe the system where you have Veeam Agent running at (OS, hardware etc). Veeam Agent console UI was designed to be able to work on systems that have no graphical interface so I'm very curious why UI is not working in your case.

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest