Logical volume [root] is not active

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:26 am 1 person likes this post

Pavel means that if you do pass through (pRDM) and configure it as LVM it won't be possible to back it up using VAL as this isn't supported.

If the disk is a VMDK it's no issue.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1440
Liked: 318 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:58 am

Just to clarify what I meant: I actually thought that the host wasn't using the LV by itself but provided it to the VM's guest OS as a block device instead.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2884
Liked: 236 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby houla » Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:53 pm

Checking to see if what's described in this thread may be our problem also.

- Cent OS 7 server, minimal install to bare metal
- VAL installed and full backup run, saved on LAN to NFS share
- Create VM on hypervisor
- Boot VM to recovery media
- Restore fails to boot after console shows progress bar finished
- Tabbing shows dracut-initqueue error/message

Thanks
houla
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 7:37 pm
Full Name: Mickey McCurdy

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests