Logical volume [root] is not active

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:26 am 1 person likes this post

Pavel means that if you do pass through (pRDM) and configure it as LVM it won't be possible to back it up using VAL as this isn't supported.

If the disk is a VMDK it's no issue.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1517
Liked: 328 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:58 am

Just to clarify what I meant: I actually thought that the host wasn't using the LV by itself but provided it to the VM's guest OS as a block device instead.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby houla » Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:53 pm

Checking to see if what's described in this thread may be our problem also.

- Cent OS 7 server, minimal install to bare metal
- VAL installed and full backup run, saved on LAN to NFS share
- Create VM on hypervisor
- Boot VM to recovery media
- Restore fails to boot after console shows progress bar finished
- Tabbing shows dracut-initqueue error/message

Thanks
houla
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:13 am

hi,

What kind of hypervisor did you use? Was it Hyper-V?

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby houla » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:30 pm

VMware ESXi 6.5 with all patches.

After thinking about this and reading some, what we're really trying is a P2V using the VAL backup for the guest OS on the hypervisor - not sure if that is be doable.

Thanks.
houla
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Jun 28, 2017 8:31 am

The described behaviour looks unexpected. Please contact support on that issue and post your case ID.

Thank you
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby houla » Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:20 am

#02204800
houla
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby oscaru » Thu Aug 03, 2017 3:41 am

Hello @houla

Could you fix the issue? Could you P2V your server with VAL?
We are trying to do the exact same thing.
oscaru
Service Provider
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:49 pm
Full Name: Oscar Suarez

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Thu Aug 03, 2017 7:21 am

Hi Oscar,

The customer worked with support in regards to the P2V issue. Best would be to contact support and point out to this forum post or the case mentioned by Houla to get help/assistance.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1517
Liked: 328 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests