Standalone backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud
Post Reply
svallarian
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 10, 2010 2:16 am
Full Name: Steven Vallarian
Contact:

Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by svallarian » Feb 27, 2017 9:39 pm

Running debian/Jessie

tried both a full backup and just a volume backup.

Get the subject error message each time.

I think it has something to do with the sloppy way I created the LVM.
NAME FSTYPE LABEL UUID MOUNTPOINT
sda
ââsda1 LVM2_member TZn64o-dREu-PhPf-Obmi-3FVv-NxVr-uwdd1c
ââmdmvg-root ext4 cabbd754-bbfa-4a18-a8a9-4a1c818eed43 /
ââmdmvg-usr ext4 7e190b66-cd21-4254-b71b-1421ce7073d5 /usr
ââmdmvg-swap swap 62203c83-7f89-4a00-a5af-37a7498a7afa [SWAP]
ââmdmvg-tmp ext4 36b15328-de61-4d51-8ecf-9be72768d307 /tmp
ââmdmvg-home ext4 69f128ae-d1dc-4697-b532-3e69f8ee2899 /home
ââmdmvg-var ext4 b3cb7770-7cdc-49fe-85d3-c46c857bbd96 /var
sdb
ââsdb1 ext4 52d19b2b-c757-4b4c-9ce4-e987a8e509cd /mnt/external
sr0
loop0
loop1
loop2
loop3
loop4
loop5
loop6
loop7

Logs

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5691
Liked: 599 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 28, 2017 7:16 am

Hi Steven,

Can you do

Code: Select all

lvdisplay |more
and tell us what the output is.

It might also be best that you create a support call and post the case ID (and outcome after that) here. We have seen this issue before (although other distro) and our support team was able to provide a fix.

Thanks
Mike

svallarian
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 10, 2010 2:16 am
Full Name: Steven Vallarian
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by svallarian » Feb 28, 2017 11:08 pm

Hi Mike. I didn't open a case because I was using the free version -- didn't know if I still could since it's out of Beta now.

Let me know if I can do that or not.

Code: Select all

 lvdisplay |more
  --- Logical volume ---
  LV Path                /dev/mdmvg/root
  LV Name                root
  VG Name                mdmvg
  LV UUID                dvGAoH-KVgJ-Xg0k-g5YY-OJXy-fQs7-c1d7gO
  LV Write Access        read/write
  LV Creation host, time mdmdev, 2014-07-15 14:46:00 -0500
  LV Status              available
  # open                 1
  LV Size                9.31 GiB
  Current LE             2384
  Segments               1
  Allocation             inherit
  Read ahead sectors     auto
  - currently set to     256
  Block device           254:0

  --- Logical volume ---
  LV Path                /dev/mdmvg/usr
  LV Name                usr
  VG Name                mdmvg
  LV UUID                UVxhnY-yFLf-9gvm-eMxa-6ngf-roj2-PKPqfr
  LV Write Access        read/write
  LV Creation host, time mdmdev, 2014-07-15 14:46:17 -0500
  LV Status              available
  # open                 1
  LV Size                9.31 GiB
  Current LE             2384
  Segments               1
  Allocation             inherit
  Read ahead sectors     auto
  - currently set to     256
  Block device           254:1

  --- Logical volume ---
  LV Path                /dev/mdmvg/swap
  LV Name                swap
  VG Name                mdmvg
  LV UUID                AYmPBp-Jxjz-ohUs-16yr-ka36-iIrU-mnXTD9
  LV Write Access        read/write
  LV Creation host, time mdmdev, 2014-07-15 14:46:48 -0500
  LV Status              available
  # open                 2

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5691
Liked: 599 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by Mike Resseler » Mar 01, 2017 6:54 am

Yes you can, please open a support case.

Even the free version comes with support, but does not have SLA's. That doesn't mean we will ignore you, you will be contacted, but we are not providing a time SLA for it and work on a best effort basis. Something we have been doing for a long time already with Veeam Endpoint Backup (soon Veeam Agent for Windows)

So create one, post the case ID here and when you have more information after that post it here also

Thanks
Mike

svallarian
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 10, 2010 2:16 am
Full Name: Steven Vallarian
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by svallarian » Mar 01, 2017 2:28 pm

Thanks Mike.

case# 02086070

svallarian
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 10, 2010 2:16 am
Full Name: Steven Vallarian
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by svallarian » Mar 09, 2017 4:49 pm

Support provided a new version of veeam & veeamsnap that fixed the issue.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5691
Liked: 599 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by Mike Resseler » Mar 13, 2017 6:41 am

Hi Steven,

Sorry for my late reply, I missed your response last week (my bad). Good to hear that support could fixed your issue! And thanks for letting us know that it got solved
Cheers
Mike

veamuser53297
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 04, 2017 12:57 pm
Full Name: Mykhael Matsko
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by veamuser53297 » May 04, 2017 1:06 pm

I'm having similar issue on both Centos 6 and 7 hosts while backing up the logical volumes. Can we all get "a new version of veeam & veeamsnap that fixed the issue" which support provided to svallarian personally? Thank you

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5181
Liked: 447 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by P.Tide » May 05, 2017 7:40 am

Hi,

To obtain the fix please contact support team directly.

Thank you.

twoboots
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 25, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by twoboots » May 25, 2017 9:41 am

LVM backup not work in version veeam-1.0.1.364-1.el7.x86_64 ?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5181
Liked: 447 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by P.Tide » May 26, 2017 8:27 pm

Hi,

It should work fine. What error do you see?

Thank you

twoboots
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 25, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by twoboots » May 29, 2017 8:07 am

analogue error Logical volume [name] is not active. (my lvm state active)

twoboots
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 25, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by twoboots » May 29, 2017 11:56 am

Backup not work if Logical volume сontains self partition table with one or more filesystems

Disk /dev/mapper/vg01-lv08: 45.6 GB, 45625638912 bytes, 89112576 sectors
/dev/mapper/vg01-lv081
/dev/mapper/vg01-lv082
/dev/mapper/vg01-lv083

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5181
Liked: 447 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by P.Tide » May 31, 2017 2:30 pm

I assume that the logical vollume is used as a "physical" device for VM, isn't it? If so then such behaviour is expected - VAL does not currently support backup of LVs that are provided to VMs as block devices.

Thank you.

ortoscale
Service Provider
Posts: 208
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by ortoscale » Jun 08, 2017 10:12 am

PTide wrote:I assume that the logical vollume is used as a "physical" device for VM, isn't it? If so then such behaviour is expected - VAL does not currently support backup of LVs that are provided to VMs as block devices.

Thank you.
Can you elaborate that a bit,
if I do lvdisplay and have sth like this

--- Logical volume ---
LV Path /dev/vg0/swap
LV Name swap
VG Name vg0
LV UUID pNYlCE-872a-JJSz-6doE-cCdX-ujER-KQ0DMB
LV Write Access read/write
LV Creation host, time localhost, 2016-04-21 16:55:38 +0000
LV Status available
# open 2
LV Size 3.81 GiB
Current LE 976
Segments 1
Allocation inherit
Read ahead sectors auto
- currently set to 256
Block device 252:1

is that supported or not?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2609
Liked: 537 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by nielsengelen » Jun 08, 2017 10:26 am 1 person likes this post

Pavel means that if you do pass through (pRDM) and configure it as LVM it won't be possible to back it up using VAL as this isn't supported.

If the disk is a VMDK it's no issue.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5181
Liked: 447 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by P.Tide » Jun 08, 2017 10:58 am

Just to clarify what I meant: I actually thought that the host wasn't using the LV by itself but provided it to the VM's guest OS as a block device instead.

houla
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 19, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by houla » Jun 22, 2017 4:53 pm

Checking to see if what's described in this thread may be our problem also.

- Cent OS 7 server, minimal install to bare metal
- VAL installed and full backup run, saved on LAN to NFS share
- Create VM on hypervisor
- Boot VM to recovery media
- Restore fails to boot after console shows progress bar finished
- Tabbing shows dracut-initqueue error/message

Thanks

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5181
Liked: 447 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by P.Tide » Jun 26, 2017 11:13 am

hi,

What kind of hypervisor did you use? Was it Hyper-V?

Thanks

houla
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 19, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by houla » Jun 27, 2017 3:30 pm

VMware ESXi 6.5 with all patches.

After thinking about this and reading some, what we're really trying is a P2V using the VAL backup for the guest OS on the hypervisor - not sure if that is be doable.

Thanks.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5181
Liked: 447 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by P.Tide » Jun 28, 2017 8:31 am

The described behaviour looks unexpected. Please contact support on that issue and post your case ID.

Thank you

houla
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 19, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by houla » Jun 29, 2017 12:20 am

#02204800

oscaru
Service Provider
Posts: 18
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2016 6:49 pm
Full Name: Oscar Suarez
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by oscaru » Aug 03, 2017 3:41 am

Hello @houla

Could you fix the issue? Could you P2V your server with VAL?
We are trying to do the exact same thing.

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2609
Liked: 537 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Post by nielsengelen » Aug 03, 2017 7:21 am

Hi Oscar,

The customer worked with support in regards to the P2V issue. Best would be to contact support and point out to this forum post or the case mentioned by Houla to get help/assistance.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pdionisis@gmx.net and 4 guests