Logical volume [root] is not active

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby svallarian » Mon Feb 27, 2017 9:39 pm

Running debian/Jessie

tried both a full backup and just a volume backup.

Get the subject error message each time.

I think it has something to do with the sloppy way I created the LVM.
NAME FSTYPE LABEL UUID MOUNTPOINT
sda
ââsda1 LVM2_member TZn64o-dREu-PhPf-Obmi-3FVv-NxVr-uwdd1c
ââmdmvg-root ext4 cabbd754-bbfa-4a18-a8a9-4a1c818eed43 /
ââmdmvg-usr ext4 7e190b66-cd21-4254-b71b-1421ce7073d5 /usr
ââmdmvg-swap swap 62203c83-7f89-4a00-a5af-37a7498a7afa [SWAP]
ââmdmvg-tmp ext4 36b15328-de61-4d51-8ecf-9be72768d307 /tmp
ââmdmvg-home ext4 69f128ae-d1dc-4697-b532-3e69f8ee2899 /home
ââmdmvg-var ext4 b3cb7770-7cdc-49fe-85d3-c46c857bbd96 /var
sdb
ââsdb1 ext4 52d19b2b-c757-4b4c-9ce4-e987a8e509cd /mnt/external
sr0
loop0
loop1
loop2
loop3
loop4
loop5
loop6
loop7



Logs
svallarian
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 2:16 am
Full Name: Steven Vallarian

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:16 am

Hi Steven,

Can you do
Code: Select all
lvdisplay |more
and tell us what the output is.

It might also be best that you create a support call and post the case ID (and outcome after that) here. We have seen this issue before (although other distro) and our support team was able to provide a fix.

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2997
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby svallarian » Tue Feb 28, 2017 11:08 pm

Hi Mike. I didn't open a case because I was using the free version -- didn't know if I still could since it's out of Beta now.

Let me know if I can do that or not.

Code: Select all
 lvdisplay |more
  --- Logical volume ---
  LV Path                /dev/mdmvg/root
  LV Name                root
  VG Name                mdmvg
  LV UUID                dvGAoH-KVgJ-Xg0k-g5YY-OJXy-fQs7-c1d7gO
  LV Write Access        read/write
  LV Creation host, time mdmdev, 2014-07-15 14:46:00 -0500
  LV Status              available
  # open                 1
  LV Size                9.31 GiB
  Current LE             2384
  Segments               1
  Allocation             inherit
  Read ahead sectors     auto
  - currently set to     256
  Block device           254:0

  --- Logical volume ---
  LV Path                /dev/mdmvg/usr
  LV Name                usr
  VG Name                mdmvg
  LV UUID                UVxhnY-yFLf-9gvm-eMxa-6ngf-roj2-PKPqfr
  LV Write Access        read/write
  LV Creation host, time mdmdev, 2014-07-15 14:46:17 -0500
  LV Status              available
  # open                 1
  LV Size                9.31 GiB
  Current LE             2384
  Segments               1
  Allocation             inherit
  Read ahead sectors     auto
  - currently set to     256
  Block device           254:1

  --- Logical volume ---
  LV Path                /dev/mdmvg/swap
  LV Name                swap
  VG Name                mdmvg
  LV UUID                AYmPBp-Jxjz-ohUs-16yr-ka36-iIrU-mnXTD9
  LV Write Access        read/write
  LV Creation host, time mdmdev, 2014-07-15 14:46:48 -0500
  LV Status              available
  # open                 2
svallarian
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 2:16 am
Full Name: Steven Vallarian

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:54 am

Yes you can, please open a support case.

Even the free version comes with support, but does not have SLA's. That doesn't mean we will ignore you, you will be contacted, but we are not providing a time SLA for it and work on a best effort basis. Something we have been doing for a long time already with Veeam Endpoint Backup (soon Veeam Agent for Windows)

So create one, post the case ID here and when you have more information after that post it here also

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2997
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby svallarian » Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:28 pm

Thanks Mike.

case# 02086070
svallarian
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 2:16 am
Full Name: Steven Vallarian

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby svallarian » Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:49 pm

Support provided a new version of veeam & veeamsnap that fixed the issue.
svallarian
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 2:16 am
Full Name: Steven Vallarian

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:41 am

Hi Steven,

Sorry for my late reply, I missed your response last week (my bad). Good to hear that support could fixed your issue! And thanks for letting us know that it got solved
Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2997
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby veamuser53297 » Thu May 04, 2017 1:06 pm

I'm having similar issue on both Centos 6 and 7 hosts while backing up the logical volumes. Can we all get "a new version of veeam & veeamsnap that fixed the issue" which support provided to svallarian personally? Thank you
veamuser53297
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 12:57 pm
Full Name: Mykhael Matsko

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri May 05, 2017 7:40 am

Hi,

To obtain the fix please contact support team directly.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2893
Liked: 236 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby twoboots » Thu May 25, 2017 9:41 am

LVM backup not work in version veeam-1.0.1.364-1.el7.x86_64 ?
twoboots
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri May 26, 2017 8:27 pm

Hi,

It should work fine. What error do you see?

Thank you
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2893
Liked: 236 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby twoboots » Mon May 29, 2017 8:07 am

analogue error Logical volume [name] is not active. (my lvm state active)
twoboots
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby twoboots » Mon May 29, 2017 11:56 am

Backup not work if Logical volume сontains self partition table with one or more filesystems

Disk /dev/mapper/vg01-lv08: 45.6 GB, 45625638912 bytes, 89112576 sectors
/dev/mapper/vg01-lv081
/dev/mapper/vg01-lv082
/dev/mapper/vg01-lv083
twoboots
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed May 31, 2017 2:30 pm

I assume that the logical vollume is used as a "physical" device for VM, isn't it? If so then such behaviour is expected - VAL does not currently support backup of LVs that are provided to VMs as block devices.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2893
Liked: 236 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Logical volume [root] is not active

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:12 am

PTide wrote:I assume that the logical vollume is used as a "physical" device for VM, isn't it? If so then such behaviour is expected - VAL does not currently support backup of LVs that are provided to VMs as block devices.

Thank you.


Can you elaborate that a bit,
if I do lvdisplay and have sth like this

--- Logical volume ---
LV Path /dev/vg0/swap
LV Name swap
VG Name vg0
LV UUID pNYlCE-872a-JJSz-6doE-cCdX-ujER-KQ0DMB
LV Write Access read/write
LV Creation host, time localhost, 2016-04-21 16:55:38 +0000
LV Status available
# open 2
LV Size 3.81 GiB
Current LE 976
Segments 1
Allocation inherit
Read ahead sectors auto
- currently set to 256
Block device 252:1

is that supported or not?
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 165
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests