Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud
Post Reply
ikacsor
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 04, 2016 2:08 pm
Full Name: Kácsor István
Contact:

Refreshing old Veeam for Linux with a newly downloaded deb

Post by ikacsor » Oct 04, 2016 2:22 pm

Hi,

on an Ubuntu16, first I installed Veeam Endpoint with a previously (about 3 months ago) downloaded deb package.
After I tried to run the newly created backup job, it said it's not possible because it's expired. OK, I downloaded the
brand new 2 deb packages and installed them. After that, I had 72 months to expire, but when I tried to run it said
"didn't decrypt password for ...(my CIFS). OK, I tried to create a new backup job, but it says unable to create job
because "table BackupJobs has no column named current_backup_id". I think it has a(n SQLite) database created
with a previous version of Veeam and some columns,tables,etc missing. How can I solve this problem?
(I tried to delete its SQLile db by deleting .sqlite file in /var/lib/veeam/... but didn't work)

Thanks

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4534
Liked: 371 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Refreshing old Veeam for Linux with a newly downloaded d

Post by PTide » Oct 04, 2016 2:32 pm

Hi,
After that, I had 72 months to expire<...>
I hope you meant days, otherwise you really need to check date and time settings on the server :)
I think it has a(n SQLite) database created with a previous version of Veeam and some columns,tables,etc missing.
You are right, the error appears due to differences in databases. Please run the following commands:

Code: Select all

dpkg --purge veeam
dpkg --purge veeamsnap
and try to reinstall veeam.

Thanks

ikacsor
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 04, 2016 2:08 pm
Full Name: Kácsor István
Contact:

Re: Refreshing old Veeam for Linux with a newly downloaded d

Post by ikacsor » Oct 04, 2016 3:02 pm 1 person likes this post

I hope you meant days, otherwise you really need to check date and time settings on the server :)
..

You are right, the error appears due to differences in databases. Please run the following commands:
...
Of course, I meant days :-)

And, thx, it worked, now the backup job is running.

Thank you!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests