Snapshot overflow

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby nghh » Tue Jul 19, 2016 5:37 pm

Hi,

we have CentOS server with LVM and try to backup it with Veeam for Linux. When the backup is nearly completed we get the following error message:

Code: Select all
2016-07-18 19:01:39 [error] Snapshot overflow.
2016-07-18 19:01:39 [error] Failed to perform backup


Output of df -h:

Code: Select all
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/vg_xxx-lv_root
                      242G  110G  120G  48% /
tmpfs                 3,9G     0  3,9G   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1             485M  139M  321M  31% /boot


Any idea what "Snapshot overflow" exactly means? Thanks a lot :-)
nghh
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:28 am
Full Name: Andreas Eschler

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:37 pm

Hi, it means there were lots of write activity on the protected computer during backup, which filled all available space in the snapshot file. In this beta, snapshot file is preallocated file of a few GB in size (don't remember how much). The release version will support dynamic snapshot file growth though. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21622
Liked: 2411 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby nghh » Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:58 pm

Thanks a lot for your quick reply. Is it possible to modify the size of snapshot file in this beta version?
nghh
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:28 am
Full Name: Andreas Eschler

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:35 pm 1 person likes this post

I don't think so, but let's wait for Pavel to confirm.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21622
Liked: 2411 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Jul 20, 2016 12:02 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,

Please make sure that the set of volumes that you backup does not include the destination volume, i.e. the entire machine backup should be targeted to a shared folder. If you already meet that requirement please check you forum inbox - I've sent you a PM describing how to set snapshot size. Also please archive and share the /var/log/veeam directory so we can check at what snapshot size did the job fail.

Thanks.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3252
Liked: 273 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby andreiw » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:59 pm

Hello PTide,

I'm having the same issue, it's a development zabbix server that's pulling monitoring telemetry from 40+ servers (100 or so values per second). Backup fails around 30% with snapshot overflow. I was going to test turning off all the services and trying again but if there's a way I can expand the snapshot size I'd love to try it out if you don't mind giving me the option. If not that's fine I'll wait for dynamic snaps to come out.

Thanks,

Andrei
andreiw
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:54 pm

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby SPart » Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:12 pm

The same problem happens here.
The size of the disk we need to backup is 1 TB
SPart
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:06 pm

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Oct 21, 2016 11:42 am

Hi,
The same problem happens here. The size of the disk we need to backup is 1 TB

Sent you instructions via PM.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3252
Liked: 273 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby Nettkroken » Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:23 am

I also have this problem, can I get the instructions?
Nettkroken
Service Provider
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:44 am
Full Name: Nettkroken AS

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Nov 08, 2016 5:08 pm

Hi,

Sent you via PM
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3252
Liked: 273 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby boatmn810 » Wed Nov 09, 2016 12:58 am

Can I get that PM with the instructions as well ?
boatmn810
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 8:12 pm
Full Name: Jared

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Nov 09, 2016 1:51 pm

Hi,

Sure, check your PM.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3252
Liked: 273 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby marcinbojko » Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:57 am

I would like to have one to, same problem.
marcinbojko
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:40 am
Location: Lublin/Poland
Full Name: Marcin Bojko

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Nov 10, 2016 3:19 pm

Hi,

I sent you instructions. Could you please provide some details about your job settings and the server configuration?

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3252
Liked: 273 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Snapshot overflow

Veeam Logoby marcinbojko » Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:17 am

Thanks, looks good.
Works ;)
marcinbojko
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:40 am
Location: Lublin/Poland
Full Name: Marcin Bojko

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest