Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud
Post Reply
nawrockip
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 05, 2017 5:09 pm
Full Name: Patryk Nawrocki
Contact:

Unable to start veeam

Post by nawrockip » Aug 21, 2017 6:29 pm

I've installed veeam agent linux on ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS (kernel 3.16.0-30 x86_64) and veeam ui doesn't start
I keep getting:
Error: Connection refused
Failed to connect: /tmp/veeam/socket/veeam.sock
Failed to connect to local socket

Firewall is set to allow all

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1969
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Unable to start veeam

Post by vmniels » Aug 21, 2017 10:59 pm

Which are the permissions of your tmp folder?

Also which Veeam Agent for Linux did you install? Is this the latest release (1.0.1.364)?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

nawrockip
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 05, 2017 5:09 pm
Full Name: Patryk Nawrocki
Contact:

Re: Unable to start veeam

Post by nawrockip » Aug 22, 2017 5:54 am

I also created support ticket and it turned out to be known bug with veeamservice

doublem
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 01, 2016 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to start veeam

Post by doublem » Dec 08, 2017 10:23 am

Did you get this working? Solution/workaround?

I have this problem on a fully updated RHEL6.9 with a newly installed Veeam Agent.

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4246
Liked: 349 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to start veeam

Post by PTide » Dec 08, 2017 11:29 am

Hi,

Have you tried to restart veeamservice manually?

Thanks

doublem
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 01, 2016 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to start veeam

Post by doublem » Dec 08, 2017 12:29 pm 1 person likes this post

Found the problem.

I tried to start "veeamservice" by running /etc/init.d/veeamservice. This script does not exist!

After some investigation I realized that I have installed the rhel7 repository and agent on a rhel6 server. My bad!
Reinstalled the correct version of Veeam Agent and now everything is working.

Thanks for the input that pointed me in the right direction.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gable and 2 guests