VAL on Arch Linux - does it work?

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

VAL on Arch Linux - does it work?

Veeam Logoby DanH » Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:53 am

Hello Everyone,
Has anyone been able to get this working on Arch Linux?
From searching, it looks like a script debtap can be used to convert a .deb package to Arch Linux package.
Max
DanH
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:09 pm
Full Name: Maximus

Re: VAL on Arch Linux - does it work?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:24 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,

Please check this. Please keep in mind that Arch is not a supported OS, although agent should work fine with it.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2884
Liked: 236 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: VAL on Arch Linux - does it work?

Veeam Logoby DanH » Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:58 pm

It's working! Verified on Manjaro Linux 4.4.39-1
Thank you PTide!!! :D
DanH
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:09 pm
Full Name: Maximus

Re: VAL on Arch Linux - does it work?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:35 am

Hi Maximus,

For other visitors on this forum. Did you used the link that PTide gave you to make it work? Did you also do a restore as a test? I'm sure many others would like to have this information ;-)

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2984
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: VAL on Arch Linux - does it work?

Veeam Logoby DanH » Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:25 am 2 people like this post

Yes, follow instructions from PTide's link. Once installed, I did a full system backup and then a couple of hours later a full system restore. It worked flawlessly!!! I'm using an NAS with NFS to store my backups. I actually had to do the restore because I manually upgraded to latest available kernel (4.9) and could not log back in.

On my system, I had to install kernel headers and an older kernel in order to build the veeam agent. Here's the commands I used:

Install headers for my current kernel (4.4.39-1-MANJARO)
Code: Select all
sudo pacman -S linux44-headers


Install older kernel required by veeam agent
Code: Select all
sudo mhwd-kernel -l linux310


Follow PTide's link to install the agent: https://github.com/CodeImp/arch_packages
DanH
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:09 pm
Full Name: Maximus


Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests