volume level backup, no root /

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:25 pm

Hi there,

I'm running this linux instance in cloud with
/ ext4
md1 xfs
md2 xfs
/backup /ext4

I can include md1 md2 into backup, /backup itself is destination,

problem is that I cannot select /, it's not visible in a choose volumes to backup menu.
Any ideas?
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 168
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:34 pm

Hi,

Have you tried to configure the job via command line? Also please provide logs ('M' key on the main screen), and post df -h and lsblk -af outputs.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:31 pm

Hi .Can i upload to veeam ftp? Can't expose all info here.
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 168
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:39 pm

Sure, just open a support case or use private message. So, did you manage to add "/" partition into the job using command line?

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:48 pm

sudo fdisk -l /dev/xvda
Disk /dev/xvda: 30 GiB, 32212254720 bytes, 62914560 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Device Boot Start End Sectors Size Id Type
/dev/xvda1 * 16065 62914526 62898462 30G 83 Linux
------------------------------------
sudo veeamconfig job create --name SystemBackup --reponame Repository_1 --objects /dev/xvda1
Error: Unable to backup following devices: /dev/xvda1
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 168
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:11 am 1 person likes this post

support case opened [ID# 02017840]
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 168
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 3:37 pm 1 person likes this post

Patch solved the problem. Thanks.
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 168
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby dav » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:35 am

Where it is possible to get the patch?
Thx.

Alexey
dav
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:33 am
Full Name: Alexey Dolgopolov

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Jan 20, 2017 12:16 pm

Hi,

Please open a support case and post your case ID here.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby dav » Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:34 pm

Hi,

Case ID # 02045169

Regards Alexey
dav
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:33 am
Full Name: Alexey Dolgopolov

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby albert.obalsam » Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:35 pm

Case ID 02078011 please :)
albert.obalsam
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:32 pm
Full Name: Alberto Balsam

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:18 am

Question for Veeam dev, is there any newer version now available (not beta)?
I tried to import backup with VAL+patch into VBR 9.5u1 but it fails, it starts importing and after few seconds import window is closed, no error was thrown, end of story.
Any ideas?

br, Matjaž
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 168
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:33 am

Hi,

I tried to import backup with VAL+patch into VBR 9.5u1
So you clicked on "Backups" node in VBR 9.5 U1, selected VAL backup files but it failed to import, is that correct? What's the version number that you use? Tha latest (GA) version is 1.0.0.944. All fixes are available only via support team, so please contact them in case your version is 944 and you still have any issues. Please don't forget to post your case ID.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:57 am

Hi, yes correct.

VAL version is 1.0.1.211
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 168
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

Re: volume level backup, no root /

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:14 am

Ok, as I can see you've already got another version of VAL, but what is the version of VAL that the backups you're trying to import have been made with? If no backups appeared under "Backups" node after you had tried to import them, then please open VBR support case, as this has to be investigated.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests