Standalone backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud
Post Reply
pama
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 20, 2011 1:02 pm
Full Name: Andrea de Lutti
Contact:

Volume restore on HW RAID

Post by pama » Aug 10, 2017 2:42 pm

Good day,
I have made a test for restore a volume backup on my client,
It I start it with the recovery media, I can browse till the backup file but my RAID array is not recognized for the restore.
I run latest Veeam Agent with Ubuntu 16.04 on my HP Proliant N54L Microserver Gen 7
I have opened case 02277159

Thank you

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5230
Liked: 450 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Volume restore on HW RAID

Post by P.Tide » Aug 10, 2017 3:18 pm

Hi,

It seems that the Recovery Media that you use does not have the drivers for the RAID controller (what's the model by the way?). Please try to create Custom Recovery media using any system that does have the RAID driver and try using it for restores.

Thank you

pama
Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 20, 2011 1:02 pm
Full Name: Andrea de Lutti
Contact:

Re: Volume restore on HW RAID

Post by pama » Aug 18, 2017 6:21 am

PTide wrote:Hi,

It seems that the Recovery Media that you use does not have the drivers for the RAID controller (what's the model by the way?). Please try to create Custom Recovery media using any system that does have the RAID driver and try using it for restores.

Thank you
Hi,
thanks a lot for your tip. I have made the custom recovery media but the volume restore still recognizes the array members as separate disks.
The raid controller is an embedded AMD chipset (more here https://www.hpe.com/h20195/v2/getpdf.as ... pdf?ver=21)

Thank you,
Andrea

fluxbox
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2017 7:26 am
Full Name: Randa Dinata
Contact:

Re: Volume restore on HW RAID

Post by fluxbox » Aug 22, 2017 10:52 am

pama wrote: Hi,
thanks a lot for your tip. I have made the custom recovery media but the volume restore still recognizes the array members as separate disks.
The raid controller is an embedded AMD chipset (more here https://www.hpe.com/h20195/v2/getpdf.as ... pdf?ver=21)

Thank you,
Andrea
By reading the PDF, i'm certain that's not real hw raid. You need dmraid activated on boot.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In ... _Fake_RAID
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests