Volume restore on HW RAID

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

Volume restore on HW RAID

Veeam Logoby pama » Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:42 pm

Good day,
I have made a test for restore a volume backup on my client,
It I start it with the recovery media, I can browse till the backup file but my RAID array is not recognized for the restore.
I run latest Veeam Agent with Ubuntu 16.04 on my HP Proliant N54L Microserver Gen 7
I have opened case 02277159

Thank you
pama
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:02 pm
Full Name: Andrea de Lutti

Re: Volume restore on HW RAID

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:18 pm

Hi,

It seems that the Recovery Media that you use does not have the drivers for the RAID controller (what's the model by the way?). Please try to create Custom Recovery media using any system that does have the RAID driver and try using it for restores.

Thank you
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Volume restore on HW RAID

Veeam Logoby pama » Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:21 am

PTide wrote:Hi,

It seems that the Recovery Media that you use does not have the drivers for the RAID controller (what's the model by the way?). Please try to create Custom Recovery media using any system that does have the RAID driver and try using it for restores.

Thank you


Hi,
thanks a lot for your tip. I have made the custom recovery media but the volume restore still recognizes the array members as separate disks.
The raid controller is an embedded AMD chipset (more here https://www.hpe.com/h20195/v2/getpdf.aspx/c04111079.pdf?ver=21)

Thank you,
Andrea
pama
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:02 pm
Full Name: Andrea de Lutti

Re: Volume restore on HW RAID

Veeam Logoby fluxbox » Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:52 am

pama wrote:Hi,
thanks a lot for your tip. I have made the custom recovery media but the volume restore still recognizes the array members as separate disks.
The raid controller is an embedded AMD chipset (more here https://www.hpe.com/h20195/v2/getpdf.aspx/c04111079.pdf?ver=21)

Thank you,
Andrea


By reading the PDF, i'm certain that's not real hw raid. You need dmraid activated on boot.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Installing_with_Fake_RAID
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto
fluxbox
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 7:26 am
Full Name: Randa Dinata


Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Matt.Sharpe and 4 guests