Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
bsieg
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 18, 2019 12:17 pm
Contact:

Agent for Windows?

Post by bsieg » May 22, 2020 7:38 pm

If I'm backing up 3 workstations through Community Edition, do I need to manually install an agent on each Windows workstation first?

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1277
Liked: 297 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Agent for Windows?

Post by Egor Yakovlev » May 22, 2020 7:46 pm

Community Edition allows up to 10 instances to be used for free with centralized control and management(things like remote deployment, automatic updates, configuration control) from Veeam Backup and Replication console.
/Cheers!

bsieg
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 18, 2019 12:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Agent for Windows?

Post by bsieg » May 22, 2020 8:02 pm

OK so no agent is needs deployed on the workstations?

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 164
Liked: 54 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Agent for Windows?

Post by Mildur » May 22, 2020 9:00 pm

You need to deploy agents.
Veeam need the agent to process the backup data on your workstation. Without this piece of software, there is no way veeam can transfer data to your backup storage.

Protection Groups let you do that automatically from Veeam B&R Console.

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=100

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=100

bsieg
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 18, 2019 12:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Agent for Windows?

Post by bsieg » May 22, 2020 10:35 pm

I manually installed the Windows free agent on one of the workstation and the Veeam backup server still cannot find the workstation.

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1277
Liked: 297 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Agent for Windows?

Post by Egor Yakovlev » May 23, 2020 5:34 am

If configuration was done right, Veeam Server will detect installed agent, if not, Veeam will deploy agent automatically instead. When you say "Veeam server cannot find Workstation" - do you get any errors during Agent Rescan or...?
/Thanks!

bsieg
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 18, 2019 12:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Agent for Windows?

Post by bsieg » May 23, 2020 11:50 pm

I believe it may be a port issue between the Windows server hosting Veeam Backup and the workstation. They are at two different sites. What ports need to be opened between the server and the workstation? 10005?

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1277
Liked: 297 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Agent for Windows?

Post by Egor Yakovlev » May 24, 2020 6:33 am

It could be networking of course. Please check Agent Management Used Ports list.
/Thanks!

Valery Shatunov
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 24, 2020 10:04 pm
Full Name: VShatunov
Contact:

Re: Agent for Windows?

Post by Valery Shatunov » May 24, 2020 10:55 pm

bsieg wrote:
May 23, 2020 11:50 pm
I believe it may be a port issue between the Windows server hosting Veeam Backup and the workstation. They are at two different sites. What ports need to be opened between the server and the workstation? 10005?
I recommend you to make some easy checks before your dig into ports investigation.

1) Are you able to open any file share on PC where you want to install agent (name it AGENT-PC for example) from PC where you have Veeam B&R installed ?
if not - google about file & sharing settings enable.
2) Have you an user with administrative access on AGENT-PC ?
if not - grant it to local user
3) if yes - are you able to open C$ system share on AGENT-PC from B&R PC ?
you can do it in the File Explorer type something like \\AGENT-PC\C$
Most probably you will get the "access denied" message even with correct credentials.

And it is THE MAIN reason.

B&R team working on enterprise solution mostly and just ignoring standalone Windows security settings in their manuals
Microsoft denied the remote access to administrative shares even for a local administrators. And B&R unable to access for coping the files for install.

Google the "Remote UAC" and "localAccountTokenFilterPolicy" how to fix it.

I think you will be able to install Agent for Windows flawless after change this windows settings.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests