Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
AngelaR
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: May 12, 2022 1:36 pm
Full Name: Angela Roe
Contact:

Agent Issues

Post by AngelaR »

I have installed VBR and V1, and yesterday I connected to our SQL server. That wiped my database that I had built. No big worries there, but today I am trying to rebuild it, and I am getting an error when trying to add devices to inventory. the error message is

5/12/2022 12:59:40 :: Skipping ipaddress Details: Failed to acquire agent managed by FQDNservername.com VBR server.

The agent is on the PC's because they were installed yesterday, but today they are failing to talk to the new database I am building.


I did a test and uninstalled 1 of the agents and it ran it ran the scan and installed it. Do I need to uninstall all agents and re-add them?

Support case #05433106

Thanks,
Angela

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 2788
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Agent Issues

Post by Mildur »

Hi Angela

Have you tried to restore you VBR configuration database with the configuration backup?
The configuration backup contains all configuration of the vbr server and the configured Agents. It gets created daily at 10AM, if you don't have disabled it.
Helpcenter - Restoring Configuration Database
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

AngelaR
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: May 12, 2022 1:36 pm
Full Name: Angela Roe
Contact:

Re: Agent Issues

Post by AngelaR »

Hi Fabian,

I tried what your suggested and the issue persists after the restore. All the restore did was wipe my configuration again. Can I get the agent to talk to the server any other way besides a reinstall of all agents?

Thanks,
Angela

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 2788
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Agent Issues

Post by Mildur »

Hi Angela

The configuration restore should had helped you to get back the old configuration database before it was "wiped". All the Agents would have reconnected to the old database where they were already registered.
What was the reason of the Wipe? If you take a configuration backup from before the wipe, does the agent connect to the VBR server again?
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests