Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
daystrom
Expert
Liked: 8 times

Backup failing, disk reported as full, but has very few files

Post by daystrom »

case 04009412

Using veeam agent 3.0.2.1170 for windows on a windows 10 pc, I have been using a 4 tb ext hdd as the target for several months. Several days ago veeam started reporting that disk space was low. I checked and what's puzzling is that while there are only 6 gb of veeam files on the drive and nothing else, windows sees the 4 tb as used up except for 40 gb. The disk should have at least two weeks of veeam backup files on it, and a decent amount of free space.

Has this kind of issue been seen before? On the Windows level, I can't recall ever seeing a disk appear almost full but only a few small files on it. Is this a sign of disk corruption or is this a bug with veeam?

Since I have apparently lost all of the veeam backups on the disk I will swap out the external hdd tomorrow, but I would of course like to get to the bottom of this.
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2890 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: Backup failing, disk reported as full, but has very few files

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
windows sees the 4 tb as used up except for 40 gb.
that's the thing that needs to be resolved. our error messages are based on what information the operating system (Windows) gives us.
or is this a bug with veeam?
very unlikely. I mean, obviously Windows has an issue to determine free space. You already opened a case, and this is good, because support is the only way to verify it. But as said - that looks like something different. Maybe Microsoft support can help more than Veeam support.

Best regards,
Hannes
daystrom
Expert

Post by daystrom »