Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
rmcdonald75
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 15, 2016 7:33 pm
Full Name: Ray McDonald
Contact:

Backup Mode Question

Post by rmcdonald75 » Feb 19, 2017 4:05 pm

Hi All,

What is there a difference between Entire Computer backup vs Volume Level Backup? I want to backup the entire computer but there is two NAS Volumes i don't want to be backed up and it does not look like i can exclude these two NAS volumes in the Entire backup job so i am going to pick Volume level but if i was to do a full system restore i want to make sure i can recover the server using the Volume backup.

Thanks
Ray

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6394
Liked: 610 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Mode Question

Post by Shestakov » Feb 19, 2017 7:45 pm

Hi Ray,
There is no way to exclude the volumes if you choose "Entire computer" mode, in your case you need the volume-level backup from where you can perform the desired restore once you need it.
You may also want to backup system state data.
Thanks!

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9601
Liked: 754 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Mode Question

Post by Dima P. » Feb 19, 2017 8:12 pm

Hi,
two NAS Volumes i don't want to be backed up
If you are referring to external volumes being mapped in your OS most likely they won’t be included in the backup. VAW (VEB) does not support external drives as a source, however, iSCSI mounted volume is the only type of external devices that can be included in the backup.
i am going to pick Volume level but if i was to do a full system restore i want to make sure i can recover the server using the Volume backup
Make sure you have operating system volume and system reserved/UEFI partition checked – then Bare Metal Recovery will work.

rmcdonald75
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 15, 2016 7:33 pm
Full Name: Ray McDonald
Contact:

Re: Backup Mode Question

Post by rmcdonald75 » Feb 20, 2017 2:57 am

Hi there,

Yes the external volumes are ISCSI so it picked them up. I will have to see if System State was an option i dont remember seeing it during volume based job. I just found the check mark to show system and hidden volumes. I will have to try to do a BMR to a VM soon.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9601
Liked: 754 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Mode Question

Post by Dima P. » Feb 20, 2017 8:50 pm

Ray,

Thanks for the clarification!
I will have to see if System State was an option i dont remember seeing it during volume based job
If you go to file level backup you will see this option.
I just found the check mark to show system and hidden volumes.
That should work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests