backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Thu Dec 18, 2014 3:21 pm

I can try USB however, ths will give USB transfer results which i know.
I know capabilities of this NAS, see http://www.storagereview.com/netgear_re ... w_rndu6000
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:03 pm

Wim,
Great! Thank you for specifications. So you tested the USB connection and it worked without the described performance issues? Please let me know the results once you disable the Jumbo Frames.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:41 pm

I disabled Jumbo Frames and now get 2 MB/s. Nothing seems to happen on client side as well as NAS Side.
Both perfomance manager and top (on Linux > NAS) show no to very low disk activity.
Veeam transport seems to be the problem.

Backup to local USB drive (WD 500 GB usb2) goes at 45 MB/s.
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:56 pm

Some performance statistics:

Image

Image

Image

Image
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:22 am

Now testing most direct attached to NAS using netgear gigabit switch. Will post results...
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:33 am

Well over wired gigabit these are the results

Image

Image

Image

Image

So wireless or over Powerline (http://www.netgear.com/home/products/ne ... B5421.aspx) is not working. Is this known?
I want to backup my other devices also, but they can't be connected wired (first floor only, rest wireless using Netgear R6200 using max 300Mbps). I cant use 5G on higher floors because of range issues.

Specs:

Channel Auto ( 11(P)+7(S) )
Mode Up to 300 Mbps
Wireless AP On
Broadcast Name On
Wireless isolation Off
Wi-Fi Protected Setup Configured

http://www.netgear.com/home/products/ne ... R6200.aspx


I also do not experience the freeze issues when backup using direct attached so NAS -> NETGEAR switch -> Laptop (HP 6570b).

Any advice?
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:21 pm

Wim,
Thanks. I tested backup over WiFi to my really slow NAS (WD LiveBook could hardly be called a NAS :D ) and the result was:

In Endpoint session – 6 Megabytes per second
In Task Manager, WiFi performance monitor ~ 40 Megabit per second (average)

For me such performance is ok, since its WiFi connection.

From your side it could be the WiFi network issue (Your wired connection performance is ok, right?), is there anything else that you can shut down while backing up over WiFi? Firewalls, traffic encryptions, maybe disable the WiFi password protection just for the tests? Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Sat Dec 20, 2014 2:15 pm

Yes, wifi seems the problem. Ofcourse wifi is half duplex but i am connected through a 5 G connection at at least 300Mbps.
I expect this to be faster. I now disabled security for testing and wil test normal SMB and Veeam backup and post results.
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:04 am

Backup over even 5G connected at 500Mbps is a waste of time. When i use Powerline which connects at appr. 250 Mbps (XAV5500) it's performance is normal like 10MB/s.
When using wired i get optimum (best possible) performance around 55MB/s.

I guess wfifi and powerline are fine for internet acces, but not for backup purposes (at least not the fulls, maybe the incrementals).

Í assume Veeam Endpoint does not make full backups every x time, like the Enterprise version? It is only forward incrementals right?
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Dec 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Hi Wim,
Í assume Veeam Endpoint does not make full backups every x time, like the Enterprise version? It is only forward incrementals right?

Yes, the default (and the only) backup model is forever incremental, where you have one first full plus periodical increments.

Sharing my personal experience as a home user: on my home laptop the average size of the increment is around 1Gb, during backup process it does not load my machine (due throttling) or wifi. So the backup running in the background does not affect my regular PC usage at all. Honestly, I do not even care about the backup performance, though as an IT guy – I just can’t say it’s not important, but I expect WiFi to be slow. What I care the most is to have restore point and the software that does not interfere why my PC workloads.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:06 pm

Yeah, my work is IT Consultant mostly RDS/Citrix/VMWare btw.
But a backup full over wifi is undoable. Takes too long. So i have to switch to a wired connection for that even though I have a fast wifi router (r6200).
Normal SMB looks and reports 5 times faster than Veaam EP, so how can i optimize this?
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Dec 23, 2014 9:17 pm

Since we have all the troubleshooting info - we will discuss your performance with the team. I'll let you know the results, thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:15 am

Any news?
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:40 am 1 person likes this post

Hello and Happy New Year,
Sorry for keeping silence. We saw the performance improvements over the WiFi while Quality of Service (QoS) was disabled. Is it supported / enabled on your router? Could you run one more test while its off? Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: backup to Nas how (netgear rndu6000)

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:42 am

Hi,

I already disabled is and will test some more wirh wifi only. I achieve 17Mb/s using 1Gbps via Powerlines (Xav5501 Netgear) now which connects at average 250Mbps.
I will post wifi speeds a.s.a.p.
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests