Can I create separate backup jobs?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Can I create separate backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby nthkmf » Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:58 am

Dear all,

I search for backup tool last year and find out Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows is great for backup the OS (I quit using Norton Ghost or True Image). Now, in version 2, it's even better.

Now, I am going to use Veeam for backing up my data, email (.pst files) & data. In the server, we have 2 place for this, one for email and one for data. So, I need to know Can I create backup job for this, so I can backup email and put it in the email folder on server, and data, to put it in the data folder on the server.

Thank you very much.
Hoc Nguyen from Vietnam.
nthkmf
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:37 am
Full Name: Hoc Nguyen

Re: Can I create separate backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:15 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Hoc,

First: Welcome to the forums!

For your question: No, that is not directly possible with VAW today. Having multiple jobs is a big request here on the forums so your vote is counted. There are some workarounds that you can use today. Read this blog as an example on how multiple jobs can be achieved. In the example you will see different destinations: https://www.virtualtothecore.com/en/sen ... d-connect/

Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3498
Liked: 390 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Can I create separate backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby nthkmf » Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:25 am

Thank you very much, Mike! I'll try your advice and wait for the next big change (if it's available) of this great tool :D
nthkmf
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:37 am
Full Name: Hoc Nguyen

Re: Can I create separate backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:41 am

Hoc,

I did say your vote is counted but that doesn't mean it will make the next big change ;-). No promises are given :-)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3498
Liked: 390 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Can I create separate backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby Paco_glt » Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:27 pm

You can add my vote too, that would be a great improvement !
Paco_glt
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 6:16 pm
Full Name: Paco Gillet

Re: Can I create separate backup jobs?

Veeam Logoby filip.radkovic » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:54 am

You can add my vote too, this is quite crucial for us, otherwise we might stay on backup exec to backup physical stuff. Sure it can be done via bat files and loading xml config, but that's surely not a convenient way to go.
filip.radkovic
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:49 am
Full Name: filip radkovic


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest