Can't update Veeam endpoint backup that are behind a proxy

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Can't update Veeam endpoint backup that are behind a proxy

Veeam Logoby j.dop » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:49 am

Hi there,

I installed Veeam endpoint backup on a few computers that are behind a proxy, so i tried to update it but it keeps failing.

I tried the option with the certificates but it still fails. After that i found an option to login on the back-up server as the user, but i'm logged in on both as administrator. So that couldn't be the thing.
I also tried netsh from SysWOW64

Is there another way to update the back-up program that are behind a proxy?
Maybe with an URL or with a promtcommand?

Also i cant add a Support Case Id since the report an issue keeps telling me that the remote server returned an error: 407 Proxy Authentication Required. But i'm not behind a proxy.
j.dop
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:29 am

Re: Can't update Veeam endpoint backup that are behind a pro

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:15 pm

Hi j.dop,

I was told that if proxy settings are specified in internet explorer VEB should pick them up. Additionally, you can download the latest VEB version and run a silent install (silent upgrade) for your endpoints.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6121
Liked: 435 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Can't update Veeam endpoint backup that are behind a pro

Veeam Logoby j.dop » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:56 am

Thanks, that did the trick. This one can be closed now...
j.dop
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:29 am

Re: Can't update Veeam endpoint backup that are behind a pro

Veeam Logoby jahilton2002 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:00 am

Sorry to respond to an aged thread. We currently have this issue. It's our webfilter\proxy that needs a rule for the URL that Windows agent uses to update. Any chance you know the URL the agent uses to update from, please?
jahilton2002
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 8:59 am
Full Name: John Hilton

Re: Can't update Veeam endpoint backup that are behind a pro

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:21 am

Hi John,

No worries about revising an old threat :-)

*.veeam.com should be the URL that will allow you to contact the update server (both the check and the download of the update itself)

Hope it helps
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3132
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Can't update Veeam endpoint backup that are behind a pro

Veeam Logoby jahilton2002 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 9:16 am

Worked a treat thank you, Sorry for the late reply.
jahilton2002
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 8:59 am
Full Name: John Hilton

Re: Can't update Veeam endpoint backup that are behind a pro

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:36 pm

No problem. Glad it worked!
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3132
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests