change repository -- re-use full backup

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

change repository -- re-use full backup

Veeam Logoby smarivoet » Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:11 pm

Hello, I did a simple test to validate the options for our production-data.
Backup of a drive of a physical server to a veeam backup-repository. Manually move the files(copy-paste) towards another backup-repository. Re-run backup.
The result was that Veeam did not manage to detect the folder and the full backup that was stored in it.

I prefer/hoped to see an incremental backup as all details of the original full are available.

This test is "only" 4gb. The goal is to physically(backup to disk, ship disk trans-continental, take incrementals) do the same in order to avoid transferring 4tb over the internet with a terrible connection in the real-situation. incrementals are not going to be big and can be transferred throught the bad lines.

any ideas/clues are welcome.
smarivoet
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:15 am
Full Name: stijn marivoet

Re: change repository -- re-use full backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:48 pm

Hi smarivoet,

It's possible to move the local backup the VBR repository or between VBR repositories. Keep on mind that you need to preserve the original folder path to the backup. Detailed explanation for a review
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: change repository -- re-use full backup

Veeam Logoby smarivoet » Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:51 pm

it wont work with any lower version.


so veeam 9 or above... :(
smarivoet
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:15 am
Full Name: stijn marivoet

Re: change repository -- re-use full backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 27, 2016 1:53 pm

True. Previous version does not have this mapping logic. Maybe it time to upgrade? :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: vomek and 20 guests