Changed Veeam B&R Server Off Domain - Endpoint Backups?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Changed Veeam B&R Server Off Domain - Endpoint Backups?

Veeam Logoby homerjnick » Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:11 am

After getting an incident of Cryptowall and our Veeam server is a member of our domain I read several blogs/white papers on how it may be better to remove your Veeam B&R server from your domain and protect your backup data.

I did this yesterday and all my backups and replication worked a treat.

The one thing I forgot about was my Endpoint backup.

I redid the credentials for the backup (3TB file server) but noticed this morning it was still running.

On inspection, when Endpoint uses Veeam Repositories as its storage it creates a folder on the Veeam Repository to store your Endpoint backups in the form of <domain\username>.

Of course, I now have a new folder called <localveeamserver\localaccount> and this now holds the Endpoint backup which I had to stop half way.

Can I delete the contents of the new folder that has last nights failed backup (well not failed but it was just going to be a full) and copy in from my <domain\username> that is now no longer going to be used to carry on the backup chain? And if I do that will Restores work?
homerjnick
Expert
 
Posts: 203
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz

Re: Changed Veeam B&R Server Off Domain - Endpoint Backups?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:16 pm

Hello Nick,

You can move the existing backup files (and delete the failed ones) to any location, reconfigure the Endpoint’s job and hit rescan on the repository – VEB backups should appear under Disk (Imported) node. Normally, next job run should map the existing backup files and continue the backup chain automatically.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Changed Veeam B&R Server Off Domain - Endpoint Backups?

Veeam Logoby homerjnick » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:19 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks Dima...

Done as you suggested and all is ok, tested a restore and it was fine.
homerjnick
Expert
 
Posts: 203
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz

Re: Changed Veeam B&R Server Off Domain - Endpoint Backups?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:18 pm

I was a bit worried that credential change may affect the expected behavior, so thanks for updating the thread. Glad you - nailed it!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Changed Veeam B&R Server Off Domain - Endpoint Backups?

Veeam Logoby homerjnick » Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:09 pm 1 person likes this post

Backups ran tonight as incrementals so all is good, handy for others to know that is all you need to do if you want to take your Veeam B&R Server off the domain.
homerjnick
Expert
 
Posts: 203
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz

Re: Changed Veeam B&R Server Off Domain - Endpoint Backups?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:15 pm

Nick,

Awesome - thanks again!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests