Changing "Computer Name" in Windows

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Changing "Computer Name" in Windows

Veeam Logoby Psychor » Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:18 am

Let's say that one of my workstations is named, for example, "WS-One."

Veeam will created backups based on this name. For example, "Backup Job WS-One2016-05-22T020009."

What happens if I change the name of this workstation? How exactly will this impact current and future backups?

Thanks.
Psychor
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:47 pm

Re: Changing "Computer Name" in Windows

Veeam Logoby DavoudTeimouri » Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:21 am

Veeam tracks machine by their unique moref ID. It's assigned by vCenter and it will be not changed when you renamed VM.
So there is no problem.
Best Regards
DavoudTeimouri
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:58 am
Full Name: Davoud Teimouri

Re: Changing "Computer Name" in Windows

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sun Aug 28, 2016 10:53 am

If you rename a machine it won't break an endpoint backup. The backup file however will still have the old name of the computer so to fix this a new full run would be needed.

There is no vcenter involved for Endpoint backups ;-)
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1505
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Changing "Computer Name" in Windows

Veeam Logoby Psychor » Sun Aug 28, 2016 5:39 pm

DavoudTeimouri wrote:Veeam tracks machine by their unique moref ID. It's assigned by vCenter and it will be not changed when you renamed VM.
So there is no problem.


I've installed Endpoint on town workstations and the backups created by Veeam are most definitely based on the "Computer Name" of the respective device.

vmniels wrote:If you rename a machine it won't break an endpoint backup. The backup file however will still have the old name of the computer so to fix this a new full run would be needed.

There is no vcenter involved for Endpoint backups ;-)


Thank you. But how exactly does Veeam know to still use the old "Computer Name" once the "Computer Name" in Windows has changed.
Psychor
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:47 pm

Re: Changing "Computer Name" in Windows

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:05 pm

It's saved in the database (as the configuration is done) and based on existing backup files.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1505
Liked: 325 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Changing

Veeam Logoby Psychor » Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:36 pm

Thanks.
Psychor
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:47 pm

Re: Changing "Computer Name" in Windows

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Aug 29, 2016 5:31 pm

Guys,

Small clarification: if computer name is the only thing that changed (partition layout was not modified, hardware configuration remains untouched etc) – next run is an incremental one.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests