Cleanup broken backup-chain

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Cleanup broken backup-chain

Veeam Logoby mernst » Fri May 01, 2015 12:38 pm

Hi

I got a corrupted Backup-chain and need to clean up.
If I uninstall / reinstall the SW, it still show me the old entries in control panel.

Thanks for help
Markus
mernst
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:17 pm

Re: Cleanup broken backup-chain

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Fri May 01, 2015 1:26 pm

"Backup files created with Veeam Endpoint Backup are removed automatically according to the retention policy settings. However, you can also remove backup files manually if necessary.
Always delete the whole backup chain from the target location. If you delete a full backup file or individual incremental backup file from the backup chain, the chain will be broken, and Veeam Endpoint Backup will fail to perform the scheduled backup next time.
If you remove the whole backup chain from the target location, during the next backup job session, Veeam Endpoint Backup will produce a new full backup. All subsequent backups will be incremental."

I pulled that from the User guide, did you try removing all the backups and letting it run a fresh full?
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Cleanup broken backup-chain

Veeam Logoby mernst » Fri May 01, 2015 3:30 pm

Hi

Thanks. I have already done that, before you replied and started a backup again, which is now finished. The Control Panel still shows the old Restore-Points, but they are no available for restore (that's clear). So it's just a cosmetic issue yet.

regards
Markus
mernst
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:17 pm

Re: Cleanup broken backup-chain

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Sat May 02, 2015 5:30 am

Hi,

We know about this because we don't delete the database when you uninstall the software (you might need it afterwards during the re-install). That's why that database still knows about them and shows them. Those restore points will indeed become invisible after the retention period so you are good in x amount of days but I understand it is not so much fun to see it :-)

What I am more interested in, is the fact that you broke the chain. Any more details on that?

Thanks

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3171
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Cleanup broken backup-chain

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sat May 02, 2015 10:18 pm

Wrong incremental deleted, perhaps :D
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Cleanup broken backup-chain

Veeam Logoby Supi_Du » Sun May 03, 2015 2:04 pm

I think the Backup-Job should test at least the existence of all the files of the Backup-Chain. So, when broken, then switch to Full-Backup.
Supi_Du
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:43 am
Full Name: Stefan Zimmer

Re: Cleanup broken backup-chain

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon May 04, 2015 9:25 am

So, when broken, then switch to Full-Backup.

If the increment is deleted (or corrupted for some reason) it should be skipped and all further incremental runs would not include such increment into processing.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Cleanup broken backup-chain

Veeam Logoby mernst » Wed May 06, 2015 3:29 pm

Hi

@Mike:
I have tested, if bare-metal recovery is working. So powered off down real server, restored it with created boot CD to another box and tested it out.
Murphy's law: the endpoint backup was starting backup during my tests ... so I got a mixed backup and I liked to delete the newest incremental backup-file.

regards
Markus
mernst
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 7:17 pm

Re: Cleanup broken backup-chain

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed May 06, 2015 5:19 pm

Markus,
Thanks for the heads up! By the way, while testing you can set endpoint scheduled backup to disabled in the Control Panel > Settings :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], vmniels and 15 guests