Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby lollolcctr » Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:59 am

This workaround works fine for me,thank you. Perhaps in next version the window is closed automatically? :wink:
lollolcctr
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:41 am
Full Name: Torsten Rudolf

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Jan1 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:37 pm

... and If the backup is made each hour, such windows can be annoying.
Jan1
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 7:15 pm

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:03 am

Hi guys,

window is closed automatically

Can you elaborate are you talking about the cmd or control panel popup? Thanks
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby lollolcctr » Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:26 am

Hi,

I'm talking about the control panel popup (titled "Veeam.EndpointManager.exe"), it makes no sense to me that this is left open while the backup runs (or perhaps for some debug / error mesage reasons?).
lollolcctr
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:41 am
Full Name: Torsten Rudolf

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:51 am

Now I get it (somehow missed the previous screenshot)! I’ve asked QA to check the described behavior – thanks for pushing :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Dec 29, 2015 4:28 pm

Guys,

Do not use start with Veeam.Endpoint.Manager.exe /standalone :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby lollolcctr » Mon Jan 04, 2016 6:01 am

Dima P. wrote:Guys,

Do not use start with Veeam.Endpoint.Manager.exe /standalone :wink:


It really makes no difference at all, whether it's used in a batch file with or without "start" or is directly started from the cmd-window with parameter "/backup" or "/standalone", the window always remains open. (longer of course, while fullbackup :D)
lollolcctr
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:41 am
Full Name: Torsten Rudolf

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:31 pm

Start can pop up a new command prompt (like you posted before)

When using it without start – you can use exit to close the only one cmd window.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby lollolcctr » Tue Jan 05, 2016 6:03 am

Here's another Screenshot to explain. The unwanted window is produced by Veeam.Endpoint.Manager.exe, not cmd. It stays as long as the backup takes or is closed/killed by someone (backup itself keeps on running, then). I only tried with start as PTide recommended to close the cmd window after killing Veeam.Endpoint.Manager.exe.

Image
lollolcctr
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:41 am
Full Name: Torsten Rudolf

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:44 am

Thanks – I’ll let dev team know about your approach.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Mar 21, 2016 5:15 pm 1 person likes this post

Since this thread is still referred to, please use "C:\Program Files\Veeam\Endpoint Backup\Veeam.EndPoint.Manager.exe" /backup without start command in the beginning and command prompt will be closed on completion. Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Jan1 » Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:23 am

Is it possible to start backup without this window ?
Jan1
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 7:15 pm

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:57 pm

So you want to hide the command prompt window during the script execution even though it will be closed on completion?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Jan1 » Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:25 am

Exactly. I use Task Scheduler in Windows which is very flexible. I wan to do "invisible" backup for users like in GUI.

Thanks
Jan1
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 7:15 pm

Re: Closing CMD Window with CMD backup command

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Mar 24, 2016 12:50 am

Got it and it sounds valid. I'll let the team know. Thanks!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests