Compression

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Compression

Veeam Logoby scott.anderson » Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:01 am

Is the GA version going to include the ability to compress the backups? maybe dedup?

Would defiantly be a feature that most admins would like to see.

Integration with the B&R v8 is OK but from a system admin perspective the user Endpoint backups have potential to burn up a whole lot of your backup staging space.

Our priority is usually the core infrastructure with the Endpoints being a nice to have but not essential.

Users of course usually see it slightly differently!
scott.anderson
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:48 am
Full Name: Scott Anderson

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:13 am

Hello Scott,
Thanks for a feedback!

Is the GA version going to include the ability to compress the backups? maybe dedup?


The backup compression (same as default level of compression in VBR) is enabled by default even in BETA. Indeed, there is no deduplication since there is only one PC per one backup, but for now, it could be achieved by backing up to the windows server 2012 share with the enabled deduplication.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

[MERGED] Feature Request:Backup Job Compression Level option

Veeam Logoby sunil.nagmal » Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:16 am

Hi Team,

Backup Job to have a compression level feature.

regards,
Sunil Nagmal
sunil.nagmal
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:20 am
Full Name: Sunil Balaji Nagmal

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:54 am

Sunil, do you want to choose compression levels or just have this option enabled? See Dmitry's reply above regarding existing capabilities.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Dec 04, 2014 12:05 pm

scott.anderson wrote:Is the GA version going to include the ability to compress the backups? maybe dedup?

There is no dedupe across multiple Endpoints, that's correct, but there is deduplication within the created backup files.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby TechIsCool » Thu Dec 04, 2014 9:07 pm 1 person likes this post

I would like to see the compression settings just like Veeam B&R since I use zfs for storage deduplication and if I have compression on it defeats the purpose.

When I asked about Dedupe/Compression it was noted that the if you were to use a repository it would be uncompressed before storage if the checkmark is checked for the repository.
TechIsCool
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:17 pm

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sat Dec 06, 2014 9:20 pm

Correct, we have this option in the advanced Veeam backup repository settings. Dmitry, please make sure that testing of this scenario is not overlooked by QC. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Apr 15, 2015 3:38 pm 1 person likes this post

To sum up, backup file data processing features in the GA code are as follows:
• Сompression is enabled by default (no UI toggle)
• Deduplication is enabled by default (no UI toggle)
• Encryption is toggle-able (check box on the endpoint-specific properties dialog of a Veeam backup repository in the B&R user interface)
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby thermoking4mi » Thu Apr 16, 2015 12:38 pm

I also would like to see some form of compression. A full backup of my PC is 336 GB, needless to say having a repository store all our workstations would be out of the question with that kind of footprint. the same PC on the native windows 7 image is 55 GB
thermoking4mi
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:23 pm
Full Name: Corey Bauder

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Apr 16, 2015 12:56 pm

I'm not sure that I follow your request, cause:
Gostev wrote:To sum up, backup file data processing features in the GA code are as follows:
• Сompression is enabled by default (no UI toggle)
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby ZLikay » Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:40 am

Gostev wrote:• Сompression is enabled by default (no UI toggle)
• Deduplication is enabled by default (no UI toggle)

Is any way to disable this options? Registry or some ini files?
ZLikay
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:34 am
Full Name: Zakhar Likay

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:39 pm

Hi ZLikay,

Unfortunately, you cannot disable compression and dedupe (at least in this version). May I ask why you want to get these disabled? Are you backing up to deduplication storage? Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby ZLikay » Thu Jun 23, 2016 2:52 am

Yes, I try to backup some PCs to ZFS storage. And I want to use ZFS deduplication.
ZLikay
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:34 am
Full Name: Zakhar Likay

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby lepphce1 » Mon Sep 12, 2016 9:31 pm

TechIsCool wrote:I would like to see the compression settings just like Veeam B&R since I use zfs for storage deduplication and if I have compression on it defeats the purpose.


Yep, compression levels, just like Veeam B&R would be a nice feature.
lepphce1
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 4:40 pm

Re: Compression

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Sep 13, 2016 11:54 am

Hi guys,

Compression will become configurable in the next major version. Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests