Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby manofbronze » Thu May 11, 2017 6:59 pm

I am currently testing the RTM of VAW 2.0 and very happy with the results so far. Especially pleased with backup direct to cloud repository and the ability to restore VAW 2.0 backups as vmware or hyper-v virtual disks. I have been able to perform several complete recoveries into VMWare and Hyper-v with minimal post recovery "tweaking". :D

I would like to be able to deploy VAW as a replacement for a competing product we use at several of our customer's sites; however, there seems to be no facility to create and schedule (2) different types of backups. The current product we use for physical servers allows the cloud backup job to not only backup directly to the cloud, but retain a local copy. Both the local copy and the cloud copy can have different retention policies. So far, with VAW 2.0, I am only able to configure a single job per server/workstation. I understand that I could use Veeam B&R installed locally as the backup repository, then use backup copy from B&R to copy to our Cloud Connect server, but this makes the solution more costly to the customer. Additionally, the competing product is "agentless" and thus can perform backups of the entire network from a "single pane of glass". Also, there is no charge for the agent that performs the backup.

Am I missing something? Is it possible to define and create more than one type of backup job with VAW 2.0? If not, any plans to accomodate this in the near future?
manofbronze
Service Provider
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:13 pm

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri May 12, 2017 5:44 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,

At this moment it is not possible out of the box. There is a workaround (see http://www.virtualtothecore.com/en/send ... d-connect/ for more details).

This request seems to pop up more and more so our PM and engineers are aware of it and will take this as a count for the feature request ;-)

Hope it helps
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2997
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby dmayer » Fri May 12, 2017 1:59 pm 1 person likes this post

Thank you! We are going to be using VAW with local storage + Cloud Connect and we will be using this method, but a built in method would be great for the next version. We've been looking for something like VAW and Cloud Connect to do managed backup for our customers and an affordable price.
dmayer
Service Provider
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:16 pm
Full Name: Daniel Mayer

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sat May 13, 2017 7:18 pm

Hi Daniel,

You can use a VBR FREE with agent license on top as a target repository for your agents and then perform a backup copy job to a Cloud Connect repository. In such case VBR license is not required.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5953
Liked: 421 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby dmayer » Sat May 13, 2017 11:21 pm

Dima,

Does it work to install both VBR and VAW on the same machine though? Our scenarios will be SMB's where we'd want both local and cloud, and some only have 1-3 computers onsite, probably barely enough to run VBR Repository role.

It will work like this:
One computer that is the "file server"
a NAS to backup to
and Cloud Connect
dmayer
Service Provider
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:16 pm
Full Name: Daniel Mayer

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby chaycock » Tue May 16, 2017 12:16 pm

I was not aware there was a free version of VBR, where can we get it?
I would like to use it at home as the repository for all of the backups, is this possible?
chaycock
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:51 pm
Full Name: Carlton Haycock

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue May 16, 2017 12:22 pm

This is possible :-). You can even get a NFR license for your homelab (have a look at https://www.veeam.com/blog/how-to-get-f ... r-key.html)

The free version of VBR is just the same iso and install but without adding a license.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1447
Liked: 319 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby chaycock » Tue May 16, 2017 12:33 pm

So if you don't add a license key, what features are disabled and what other ramifications are there?

I saw the NFR page with the requirements (being an mvp,etc) and unfortunately I do not meet any of those requirements. Also, it seemed to indicate the NFR was only good for a year. This is something I would like to use ongoing, not just for a year.
chaycock
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:51 pm
Full Name: Carlton Haycock

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue May 16, 2017 12:35 pm

The difference is listed in https://www.veeam.com/nl/veeam_backup_9 ... son_ds.pdf

The NFR license is indeed valid for 1 year after which you can request a new one.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1447
Liked: 319 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby chaycock » Tue May 16, 2017 12:36 pm

Can you provide a link to the VBR download? I went to the downloads page and there a bunch of downloads, I want to make sure I get the correct one.

Thanks,
Carlton
chaycock
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:51 pm
Full Name: Carlton Haycock

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Tue May 16, 2017 12:39 pm

The full list is available at https://www.veeam.com/downloads.html - for VBR just go to https://www.veeam.com/backup-replicatio ... nload.html

Keep in mind that update 2 is available for 9.5 as well (https://www.veeam.com/kb2283)
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1447
Liked: 319 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby chaycock » Tue May 16, 2017 12:40 pm

Thank you for your extremely quick responses to my questions!
chaycock
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:51 pm
Full Name: Carlton Haycock

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby vikassi » Tue May 16, 2017 6:47 pm

Dima P. wrote:Hi Daniel,

You can use a VBR FREE with agent license on top as a target repository for your agents and then perform a backup copy job to a Cloud Connect repository. In such case VBR license is not required.


Do you need to use the "workaround" that is linked to in the above post or can this be done natively?
vikassi
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:37 pm
Full Name: Jackson Johnson

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 17, 2017 3:51 pm

In this case workaround is not needed.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14482
Liked: 1057 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Create/Schedule Multiple backup Jobs in VAW 2.0 RTM?

Veeam Logoby chaycock » Thu May 18, 2017 12:43 pm

Is there a quick guide that describes how to use VBR as just a repository for VEB backups?
I loaded VBR but do not see anything about creating repositories, it is wanting me to register VM's, etc, of which I have none.

I have been looking at the following documentation page:

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

However, I do not have any of the items regarding repositories on my console.
The only options that are showing up when I run it are the Virtual Machine options.
chaycock
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:51 pm
Full Name: Carlton Haycock

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests