Data transfered via Backup&Repication server

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Data transfered via Backup&Repication server

Veeam Logoby grnal » Wed May 27, 2015 2:40 pm

Hello everyone I probably did somethig wrong, because all my endpoint agents which are suppouse to backup directly to repository (network share) are sending all data to Backup & Repication server which is then transferring data to network share.

Any idea?

Tahnk you,

Lukas
grnal
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:29 am
Full Name: Lukas Grna

Re: Data transfered via Backup&Repication server

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Wed May 27, 2015 2:52 pm

Lukas, when you setup the VEB job, did you select the network share or the backup repository as the destination for the job? What do you mean it is sending it to the VBR server then transferring to the share, is it saving it locally on the VBR server?

Thanks!
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Data transfered via Backup&Repication server

Veeam Logoby grnal » Wed May 27, 2015 3:01 pm

Hi JaxIsland7575,
on VBR console I created 2 new Backup Repositories (type CIFS, both are \\Network\shares), then in Endpoint agents I selected one of those repositories as backup destination.
Backups are beeing saved on \\network\shares but all data flows through VBR server.
Network traffic, screen from VBR server
Image
smahelova. - source
kamery. - \\network\share
grnal
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:29 am
Full Name: Lukas Grna

Re: Data transfered via Backup&Repication server

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Wed May 27, 2015 3:04 pm

That makes sense to me, the VEB machine only is being directed at the VBR server. From there the VBR server is handling the transfer to the repository. That is how I would imagine it would flow with that setup. You could cut out the VBR server and just set up the VEB job to go right to a share, but you would lose the job in the VBR server which I know I like having.
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Data transfered via Backup&Repication server

Veeam Logoby grnal » Wed May 27, 2015 3:06 pm

Exactly... so what you are telling me is that this is correct? :-)
Because when 4 jobs from endopint agents are running at the same time, my network becomes quite laggy and even packet drops occure time to time.
grnal
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:29 am
Full Name: Lukas Grna

Re: Data transfered via Backup&Repication server

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Wed May 27, 2015 3:07 pm

Yes it seems correct in function, but the lag and packet drops are no good. Can you stagger the jobs to try and alleviate all 4 running at the same time?
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Data transfered via Backup&Repication server

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 28, 2015 1:11 pm

Lukas,
And what was selected as a gateway for the said CIFS VBR repository? Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6263
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests