Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
bigdog
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 29, 2016 4:40 pm
Full Name: Neil Potter
Contact:

Endpoint running on Windows Servers?

Post by bigdog » Feb 29, 2016 4:56 pm

We have a remote site with two physical servers and were looking at using Veeam Endpoint to back these boxes up.

One is a 2012R2 server running Active Directory services. Simple question. Any issues backing this up? It's the main DC for that site, but is just a DC in a Domain of 4 sites, with the PDC being off site.

The other is a Server 2008R2 box that is a file server, and also acts as a Veeam repository for our main site (running Veeam B+E 9). Can Endpoint be installed on the same machine that runs either Veeam B&E, or Veeam Repository?

Thanks

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Endpoint running on Windows Servers?

Post by Dima P. » Feb 29, 2016 9:28 pm

Hello Neil,

Sure. If its a simple non clustered setup - should be working fine, so give it a try. VBR and VEB can be installed on one machine, this scenario was specifically tested by our QA team.

bigdog
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 29, 2016 4:40 pm
Full Name: Neil Potter
Contact:

Re: Endpoint running on Windows Servers?

Post by bigdog » Mar 02, 2016 3:33 pm

Awesome. Do you know if you can set two backup jobs on the same machine? I have local repo and a remote repo and have always preferred to do separate jobs rather than using the duplicate job option for the remote site.
At the moment I have one job setup, but can't see any option to add a second / multiple backup jobs form the same server.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Endpoint running on Windows Servers?

Post by Dima P. » Mar 03, 2016 11:52 am

Unfortunately, VEB support only one backup job; however, you can store the backup files inside the VBR repository and then perform a backup copy job to secondary destination.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests