Error during first backup

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby Iceman74 » Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:26 am

Hello,

I have a problem with the backup of a Windows 7, tha backup failed at the end ...

I get this error in the job log file : 22/04/2015 16:17:19 :: Error: Data error (cyclic redundancy check). Failed to read data from the file [\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy16]. Failed to upload disk. Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.SyncDisk}. Exception from server: Data error (cyclic redundancy check). Failed to read data from the file [\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy16]. Unable to retrieve next block transmission command. Number of already processed blocks: [41746]. Failed to download disk.

I don't understand this error ...

Can you help me ?

Thank you
Iceman74
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:25 am
Full Name: Baptiste

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:52 am

Hello Iceman74,
For an error like this please open a support case via Endpoint Control Panel > Support > Technical Support and let us know the case ID. Thanks
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby shifto » Mon May 04, 2015 6:58 pm

Did you get any feedback on this? I'm also encountering this on one WinServ 2008 R2 machine. Or should I also open a ticket? Thanks.
shifto
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 6:56 pm

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed May 06, 2015 5:34 pm

shifto,
Yes, please, open a case - since we did not receive the case ID from the topic starter we don’t have any feedback for now. Once you got the case ID do not forget to post it to this thread. Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby Iceman74 » Thu May 07, 2015 6:16 am 1 person likes this post

Hello,

My case numer is Case # 00888724

I have run the victoria analyser software has requested (a CHKDSK failed to repair HDD) and the soft has find some problem and repair them.

I have relaunch the complete backup and waiting the final result ... ! W8 & see :mrgreen:
Iceman74
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:25 am
Full Name: Baptiste

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby deebee » Thu May 07, 2015 2:44 pm 1 person likes this post

I had a very similar error to this when I tried backing up a laptop that had Pointsec Full Disk Encryption installed.

After removing the Pointsec encryption and switching it to Bitlocker, it all worked fine.
deebee
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 2:17 pm
Full Name: David B

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 07, 2015 2:58 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks for the updates guys! I am still curious about the logs analysis from our side, so let’s wait for support response.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby Iceman74 » Fri May 08, 2015 5:43 am 1 person likes this post

For my case seems that some bad error on the HDD cannot be repair :( , here the support response :

"Unfortunately in your case we cannot do nothing. because your disk have bad blocks, that cannot be fixed by low-level software(Victoria HDD). Veeam EndPoint Backup is not allowed to skip this bad blocks by design, because there are possibility to ruin your whole disk. The workaround is to change your HDD to the brand new one or HDD without bad blocks"

Thanks to the Veeam support to have help me for this problem ! :D
Iceman74
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:25 am
Full Name: Baptiste

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri May 08, 2015 3:16 pm

Baptiste,

You got to love these guys ;-). Although it is sorry that your specific problem isn't fixed because of faulty HW...

Cheers

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3496
Liked: 390 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby Iceman74 » Mon May 11, 2015 6:34 am

Hi Mike no problem, i really thanks Veeam support to have help me for try to find a solution, it wasn't a joke !

Best regards,
Iceman74
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:25 am
Full Name: Baptiste

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby zaf » Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:10 pm

Iceman74 wrote:For my case seems that some bad error on the HDD cannot be repair :( , here the support response :

"Unfortunately in your case we cannot do nothing. because your disk have bad blocks, that cannot be fixed by low-level software(Victoria HDD). Veeam EndPoint Backup is not allowed to skip this bad blocks by design, because there are possibility to ruin your whole disk. The workaround is to change your HDD to the brand new one or HDD without bad blocks"

Thanks to the Veeam support to have help me for this problem ! :D


Because is a drive has bad blocks, it's not a good idea to back up its data? :shock:
zaf
Service Provider
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 7:08 pm
Full Name: Tim Fournet

Re: Error during first backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:39 pm

In current version while drive returns the bad block error during backup VEB will stop the job to avoid further disk corruption.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest