Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
Iceman74
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2015 9:25 am
Full Name: Baptiste
Contact:

Error during first backup

Post by Iceman74 » Apr 24, 2015 11:26 am

Hello,

I have a problem with the backup of a Windows 7, tha backup failed at the end ...

I get this error in the job log file : 22/04/2015 16:17:19 :: Error: Data error (cyclic redundancy check). Failed to read data from the file [\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy16]. Failed to upload disk. Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.SyncDisk}. Exception from server: Data error (cyclic redundancy check). Failed to read data from the file [\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy16]. Unable to retrieve next block transmission command. Number of already processed blocks: [41746]. Failed to download disk.

I don't understand this error ...

Can you help me ?

Thank you

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by Dima P. » Apr 24, 2015 11:52 am

Hello Iceman74,
For an error like this please open a support case via Endpoint Control Panel > Support > Technical Support and let us know the case ID. Thanks

shifto
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 04, 2015 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by shifto » May 04, 2015 6:58 pm

Did you get any feedback on this? I'm also encountering this on one WinServ 2008 R2 machine. Or should I also open a ticket? Thanks.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by Dima P. » May 06, 2015 5:34 pm

shifto,
Yes, please, open a case - since we did not receive the case ID from the topic starter we don’t have any feedback for now. Once you got the case ID do not forget to post it to this thread. Thanks.

Iceman74
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2015 9:25 am
Full Name: Baptiste
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by Iceman74 » May 07, 2015 6:16 am 1 person likes this post

Hello,

My case numer is Case # 00888724

I have run the victoria analyser software has requested (a CHKDSK failed to repair HDD) and the soft has find some problem and repair them.

I have relaunch the complete backup and waiting the final result ... ! W8 & see :mrgreen:

deebee
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 07, 2015 2:17 pm
Full Name: David B
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by deebee » May 07, 2015 2:44 pm 1 person likes this post

I had a very similar error to this when I tried backing up a laptop that had Pointsec Full Disk Encryption installed.

After removing the Pointsec encryption and switching it to Bitlocker, it all worked fine.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by Dima P. » May 07, 2015 2:58 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks for the updates guys! I am still curious about the logs analysis from our side, so let’s wait for support response.

Iceman74
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2015 9:25 am
Full Name: Baptiste
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by Iceman74 » May 08, 2015 5:43 am 1 person likes this post

For my case seems that some bad error on the HDD cannot be repair :( , here the support response :

"Unfortunately in your case we cannot do nothing. because your disk have bad blocks, that cannot be fixed by low-level software(Victoria HDD). Veeam EndPoint Backup is not allowed to skip this bad blocks by design, because there are possibility to ruin your whole disk. The workaround is to change your HDD to the brand new one or HDD without bad blocks"

Thanks to the Veeam support to have help me for this problem ! :D

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5701
Liked: 601 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by Mike Resseler » May 08, 2015 3:16 pm

Baptiste,

You got to love these guys ;-). Although it is sorry that your specific problem isn't fixed because of faulty HW...

Cheers

Mike

Iceman74
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2015 9:25 am
Full Name: Baptiste
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by Iceman74 » May 11, 2015 6:34 am

Hi Mike no problem, i really thanks Veeam support to have help me for try to find a solution, it wasn't a joke !

Best regards,

zaf
Service Provider
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 11, 2016 7:08 pm
Full Name: Tim Fournet
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by zaf » Jan 29, 2016 5:10 pm

Iceman74 wrote:For my case seems that some bad error on the HDD cannot be repair :( , here the support response :

"Unfortunately in your case we cannot do nothing. because your disk have bad blocks, that cannot be fixed by low-level software(Victoria HDD). Veeam EndPoint Backup is not allowed to skip this bad blocks by design, because there are possibility to ruin your whole disk. The workaround is to change your HDD to the brand new one or HDD without bad blocks"

Thanks to the Veeam support to have help me for this problem ! :D
Because is a drive has bad blocks, it's not a good idea to back up its data? :shock:

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Error during first backup

Post by Dima P. » Jan 29, 2016 10:39 pm

In current version while drive returns the bad block error during backup VEB will stop the job to avoid further disk corruption.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests