Error opening backup

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Error opening backup

Veeam Logoby vvilla » Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:01 pm

Hello, I've installed EP in some computers with a file mode configuration, backing up some folders and applying masks to filter the files I need to backup.

All works fine, the backups are made to a hidden shared folder quickly and without problems, but when I try to open the backup files from my "administration computer" an error pops up when the "file browser" window opens saying "Some errors occurred. See log files for additional information".

I can open the backup from the original computer who made it thought the restore menu, but not double clicking any of the backup files from mine. I've administrator privileges over the share and the files and I've also assured that no backup is running in my local or remote computer. I've even shut down the computer that performed te backup.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.
vvilla
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:49 pm
Full Name: Vicente Villagrasa

Re: Error opening backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:26 pm

Hello Vicente,
but when I try to open the backup files from my "administration computer" an error pops up when the "file browser" window opens saying "Some errors occurred. See log files for additional information".

So you are trying to open backup files from another PC, right? Do you have the Endpoint Backup installed on that other machine?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error opening backup

Veeam Logoby evelio204 » Fri Dec 26, 2014 4:58 pm

Just wanted to say this is happening to me as well, I can open the backups with the recovery media and can restore them. I cannot open them on another computer that has Endpoint Backup.
evelio204
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 4:54 pm
Full Name: Evelio

Re: Error opening backup

Veeam Logoby vvilla » Fri Dec 26, 2014 7:07 pm

Yes, I've Endpoint Backup in the machine from where I'm trying to open the backup file in the network share. As I said, the backup files aren't blocked by a running backup and my user has admin privileges over the whole domain. The share has read/write permissions for all (it's a hidden one with $).

I've tried from various computers with the same error. I can only open the backups from the same computer who made them.
vvilla
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:49 pm
Full Name: Vicente Villagrasa

Re: Error opening backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:17 pm

Got it. Thank you for the clarification – Ill check with QA on Monday and follow up shortly.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error opening backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:58 pm

Guys, there might be a problem with credentials inside the Endpoint (it does not properly catch the widows creds for accessing the share). Instead try to manually browse the backup files via regular FLR wizard (you can launch it either from tray > restore or from the task bar shortcut C:\Program Files\Veeam\EndPoint Backup\Veeam.EndPoint.FLR.exe)
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error opening backup

Veeam Logoby vvilla » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:16 am

Hello again, I've tried to use the FLR wizard as you suggested, but when I select the files from the network share, manually typing the path into the wizard, because it by default gets my own repository, the whole computer crashes with an ugly screen of death indicating an "NTFS SYSTEM ERROR" and restarts my computer.

The wizard can locate the backup over the network and I can select the restore point I need, but when mounting the backup, it crashes the computer.

I'm testing in a windows 8.1 x86 laptop, 3GBytes of RAM and and SSD with more than 90 GBytes of free space with a wired network connection (1Gbps).

Any idea?
vvilla
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:49 pm
Full Name: Vicente Villagrasa

Re: Error opening backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am

Vicente,
Thank you for the heads up. Please open a support case thru the built in ticketing system – QA team might want to look at the logs.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error opening backup

Veeam Logoby vvilla » Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:56 am

Thanks, I've openend a case. The number is 00724068.
vvilla
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:49 pm
Full Name: Vicente Villagrasa


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests