Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
vvilla
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2011 12:49 pm
Full Name: Vicente Villagrasa
Contact:

Error opening backup

Post by vvilla » Dec 22, 2014 12:01 pm

Hello, I've installed EP in some computers with a file mode configuration, backing up some folders and applying masks to filter the files I need to backup.

All works fine, the backups are made to a hidden shared folder quickly and without problems, but when I try to open the backup files from my "administration computer" an error pops up when the "file browser" window opens saying "Some errors occurred. See log files for additional information".

I can open the backup from the original computer who made it thought the restore menu, but not double clicking any of the backup files from mine. I've administrator privileges over the share and the files and I've also assured that no backup is running in my local or remote computer. I've even shut down the computer that performed te backup.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 9171
Liked: 685 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Error opening backup

Post by Dima P. » Dec 22, 2014 8:26 pm

Hello Vicente,
but when I try to open the backup files from my "administration computer" an error pops up when the "file browser" window opens saying "Some errors occurred. See log files for additional information".
So you are trying to open backup files from another PC, right? Do you have the Endpoint Backup installed on that other machine?

evelio204
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 26, 2014 4:54 pm
Full Name: Evelio
Contact:

Re: Error opening backup

Post by evelio204 » Dec 26, 2014 4:58 pm

Just wanted to say this is happening to me as well, I can open the backups with the recovery media and can restore them. I cannot open them on another computer that has Endpoint Backup.

vvilla
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2011 12:49 pm
Full Name: Vicente Villagrasa
Contact:

Re: Error opening backup

Post by vvilla » Dec 26, 2014 7:07 pm

Yes, I've Endpoint Backup in the machine from where I'm trying to open the backup file in the network share. As I said, the backup files aren't blocked by a running backup and my user has admin privileges over the whole domain. The share has read/write permissions for all (it's a hidden one with $).

I've tried from various computers with the same error. I can only open the backups from the same computer who made them.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 9171
Liked: 685 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Error opening backup

Post by Dima P. » Dec 28, 2014 1:17 pm

Got it. Thank you for the clarification – Ill check with QA on Monday and follow up shortly.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 9171
Liked: 685 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Error opening backup

Post by Dima P. » Dec 30, 2014 12:58 pm

Guys, there might be a problem with credentials inside the Endpoint (it does not properly catch the widows creds for accessing the share). Instead try to manually browse the backup files via regular FLR wizard (you can launch it either from tray > restore or from the task bar shortcut C:\Program Files\Veeam\EndPoint Backup\Veeam.EndPoint.FLR.exe)

vvilla
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2011 12:49 pm
Full Name: Vicente Villagrasa
Contact:

Re: Error opening backup

Post by vvilla » Jan 09, 2015 11:16 am

Hello again, I've tried to use the FLR wizard as you suggested, but when I select the files from the network share, manually typing the path into the wizard, because it by default gets my own repository, the whole computer crashes with an ugly screen of death indicating an "NTFS SYSTEM ERROR" and restarts my computer.

The wizard can locate the backup over the network and I can select the restore point I need, but when mounting the backup, it crashes the computer.

I'm testing in a windows 8.1 x86 laptop, 3GBytes of RAM and and SSD with more than 90 GBytes of free space with a wired network connection (1Gbps).

Any idea?

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 9171
Liked: 685 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Error opening backup

Post by Dima P. » Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am

Vicente,
Thank you for the heads up. Please open a support case thru the built in ticketing system – QA team might want to look at the logs.

vvilla
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2011 12:49 pm
Full Name: Vicente Villagrasa
Contact:

Re: Error opening backup

Post by vvilla » Jan 12, 2015 7:56 am

Thanks, I've openend a case. The number is 00724068.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: serena.hagel and 11 guests