Error when doing a sytem restore

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Mar 10, 2016 5:58 pm

Glen.R,
I am sorry – I completely missed your last post. According to the logs you backup storage is corrupted (it might have a bad blocks or other issues) and if affects the stored backup file thus you are getting this error. I am afraid there is nothing we can do about it since the issue is related to hardware failure.

Ried,
Kindly, let the support team check you logs first. Thanks.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

[MERGED] Error ...LZ4 Block...

Veeam Logoby ewkilian » Wed Oct 26, 2016 7:29 am

Hello,

(sorry i'm french my english is bad)
I'm user from veeam endpoint bakcup Free. This is the 2nd time, of 3, that I have a error on the Metal Restoration (same error, that the object, that last time, with another computer, not the same material)
That is really a problem for me.
I receive this e-mail with object "Success"
All is OK.
the HD crash for this computer. I think no problem I have a Veeam Backup FULL Computer
But when I try the restore, I have a error
I'm very sad, I use the software on many computer, and now I wonder if I can trust this software :-(
I hope that you can help me too restore this computer.
I have test with different backup (Full and Incremental)
Can you help me ? Is very important for me to restore that Full metal
Is there a verification software ?
Thank you.

Reply from Veeam Support after I send the log
Definitely, Veeam fails on reading backup file:

..
[21.10.2016 20:14:50] <19> Error Failed to restore volume
[21.10.2016 20:14:50] <19> Error Invoke failed. Command: 'DataTransfer.SyncDisk', .
..
21.10.2016 20:14:50] <19> Error Failed to decompress LZ4 block: Incorrect decompression result or length (result: '-1002082', expected length: '1048576'). (Veeam.Backup.Common.CCppComponentException)
..

LZ4 error means that one of the backup file's blocks is corrupted (physically) and CRC sum is wrong. By default Veeam stops a restore procedure, because this failed block can contain system files and skipping them will cause a restored OS fail to boot.

Unfortunately from a Recovery Media right now it is not possible to skip bad blocks from a backup file.

However, as a workaround, it might be possible to open a backup file using VBR. VBR has specialized agents, which can skip faulty backup block and read only consistent ones. It's worth trying.



Can you help me to find a solution ?

for
To developper team, can you developp a solution to verify the CRC after the backup.


Thank you very much
ewkilian
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:58 pm
Full Name: Ried

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:57 pm

Hello ewkilian,
I understand your frustration, but as was said it`s not software, but hardware issue.
Support engineers are correct, if data blocks are corrupted server restore is not possible, however you may try file-level restore. Do you also use Veeam Backup and Replication?
Since you have that issue on that repository I would suggest you to try backup on another repository.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5023
Liked: 418 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:30 pm

To clarify, backup file is corrupted because it is stored on corrupted device (probably, a disk with bad blocks). In such case, entire computer recovery won’t work but you can try to restore the specific volumes (try to exclude volumes one by one, can’t promise – it depends on the allocation of the corrupted blocks). If volume level restore is not working too, last resort is file level recovery.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby ewkilian » Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:50 am

The restore in file level is ok. But always not Bare Metal restore.
Have you a solution to check the HD ? to check the backup ?

No I Don't use Veeam Backup and Replication

Thank you
ewkilian
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:58 pm
Full Name: Ried

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:38 am

There is no automatic backup recoverability check yet, the feature is going to be added in future versions.
You may install free or trial version of Veeam Backup and Replication to perform file and volume-level restores.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5023
Liked: 418 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:20 pm

And to check the HD health state, I would suggest to use any 3rd party tool (it doesn't really matter which one you select).
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19770
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby ewkilian » Thu Nov 03, 2016 12:11 pm

OK thanks you, Then I wait on the new feature for the next version.
ewkilian
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:58 pm
Full Name: Ried

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:38 pm

Regarding the disk checking utilities, as far as I am concerned windows check disk is not the best solution (it may skip bad blocks at some point). Support folks from time to time use the tool called Victoria, so worth checking.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

[MERGED] volume restore failed to decompress LZ4 block

Veeam Logoby kwinsor » Sun Jan 01, 2017 4:45 pm

Hi everyone,
I use Veeam Endpoint Free for my Windows 10 PC. I run the latest version. I needed to restore my system volume yesterday to correct a change I made. The PC could boot with no issue so I figured easiest fix was to restore from my 4 AM backup. My backups are stored on external hard drive. All backups were successful for the past 10 days of my retention policy. No errors reported in any of my backups so I expected a successful restore. I booted the PC using Veeam Recovery USB drive and proceeded to restore the system volume. It failed around 30% due to CRC mismatch and failed to decompress LZ4 block. I tried 4 different incremental backups and got same error. I even went back 10 days to the full and received same error. Each time the same point failed with same CRC values.

Upon boot up from the failed restores, my PC was so messed up I could only login with a temporary profile. Luckily all my data is on a separate disk. I had master file table corruption all over the place which I managed to fix. 4 hours later I think I fixed all my errors. I had to recreate the Veeam Endpoint database as the service would not start and i had to repair a bunch of programs.

My question to this forum is why did this happen? I ran Seatools and chkdsk against my external drive and it has no issues. As far as I can tell, the external disk is fine.I use Veeam at work for our VMware environments so I know the products well. I've now lost confidence in Veeam EndPoint backup. I have 10 days worth of backups that all look fine in the GUI in terms of successful backups but how am I to know if I can restore at crunch time? Why doesn't the backup fail if it has issues storing the backup on disk due to file integrity issues?

I have no logs to attach. I have no Veeam configuration left with the database rebuild except the backup files that I can't restore. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thank you in advance.
kwinsor
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 1:26 pm
Location: Toronto
Full Name: Kent Winsor

[MERGED] volume restore failed to decompress LZ4 block

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:57 am

Kent,

Obviously I don't like reading this one and I can not give you an answer why it happened. From what I can read I can only guess that there is a corruption in the full backup, and therefore the incrementals aren't working either. Do you still have the backups of the last 10 days left? I still would like you to create a support call through the VEB UI so our engineers can investigate this

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3345
Liked: 380 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 02, 2017 12:15 pm

Hi Kent,

It failed around 30% due to CRC mismatch and failed to decompress LZ4 block.

This error usually reflects the disk storage corruption. Check disk might not be the best way to identify the bad storage. Please open a support case and our support folks should be able to help you identifying the root cause.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby kwinsor » Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:44 pm

Hi thanks.....yes I still have backup files. It appears a bunch of zip files named appliance_log_<date> from the time the restores failed written to the backup directory of my external drive. I can open a case and maybe provide these logs.

Regarding chkdsk, the drive is a Seagate 4 TB and I also ran Seatools against it with a short generic test and it found no issue.
kwinsor
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 1:26 pm
Location: Toronto
Full Name: Kent Winsor

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:49 pm

Kent,

Thanks! Restore logs will help to find out the root cause. I might be wrong, but it looks like seatools are leveraging the checkdisk functionality. Frankly speaking it may help to resolve the software block corruption but may miss or ignore the hardware issues. Check the drive with Victoria tool I’ve shared above in this thread. I trust this solution's output when it comes to the hardware corruption issues
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Error when doing a sytem restore

Veeam Logoby kwinsor » Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:51 pm

Thanks i will try the tool. I opened a case - Veeam Support - Case # 02026596
kwinsor
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 1:26 pm
Location: Toronto
Full Name: Kent Winsor

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests