Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby danoarx » Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:47 pm

Would be nice to have pause / resume and cancel / resume. It would be nice to have this feature if you cancel or pause a backup and then resume it.
danoarx
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:31 pm
Full Name: Adnan Riaz

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:16 pm

Adnan,
This functionality is nice to have indeed. I’ve been thinking that pause could not last forever and at some point application should throw an error. How do you think what supposed to be an appropriate pause time before backup will fail? Thank you.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby danoarx » Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:27 pm

I would say maybe 15 minutes. Like if you are backing up the system and have something important to take care of, you can pause it and then resume it in 15 minutes. Or maybe you can add another option Cancel / Resume. So if you have to do something for longer than 15 minutes, you cancel the job and then resume it later instead of running the backup from the start.
danoarx
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:31 pm
Full Name: Adnan Riaz

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Jan 14, 2015 6:09 pm

Understood.
Like if you are backing up the system and have something important to take care of, you can pause it and then resume it in 15 minutes.

But how about throttling? It should take care of the Endpoint resource usage, so even if you start some huge application, it will continue to slowly run in the background.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby danoarx » Wed Jan 14, 2015 6:22 pm

Yes, throttling would work. But Resume funtionality is really important. The backup job sometimes fails and then you have to start over again. Resume or Retry (like in Veeam Backup) would be great.
danoarx
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:31 pm
Full Name: Adnan Riaz

[MERGED] Feature Request - Resume / Retry

Veeam Logoby danoarx » Wed Jan 14, 2015 6:27 pm

Would be nice to Resume the failed backup jobs, as in Veeam Backup you can "Retry" failed jobs.
danoarx
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:31 pm
Full Name: Adnan Riaz

Re: Feature Request - Resume / Retry

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:39 pm

Adnan,
We have a built in retry option even in the BETA (3 times every 10 minutes). It will be improved in GA.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby danoarx » Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:08 pm

This resume functionality is really important as I am yet to complete a backup of my machine. It keeps on failing at different % with the error
Error: The system cannot find the file specified. Failed to write data to the file [F:\VeeamBackup\Backup Job MYVD\Backup Job MYVD2015-01-15T105425.vbk]. Failed to download disk. An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host Failed to upload disk. Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.SyncDisk}.

There is not much log available to troubleshoot this problem. I am backing it up to a USB drive. If there was a resume option, I would have used it.
danoarx
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:31 pm
Full Name: Adnan Riaz

Re: Feature Request - Resume / Retry

Veeam Logoby danoarx » Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:45 pm

Understood, but there need to be a manual retry. I have yet to complete a backup. It fails at different times. If it had Retry option it would have been a great help.
danoarx
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:31 pm
Full Name: Adnan Riaz

Re: Feature Request - Resume / Retry

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Fri Jan 16, 2015 3:23 am

Since the software does not support multiple backup jobs, then having a "Retry" button in addition to the "Backup Now" button that is on the main page is redundant. If you want to retry a failed run, just click the Backup Now button.

Or is it more a wording issue for the button?
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Fri Jan 16, 2015 3:34 am

As an end user, Pause/Resume to me would be exactly that...you click pause, which freezes the backup in a stable state. Resume then continues from that point.

Resume when you get an error (as in this case) isn't really feasible since who knows what state the backup file is in, and would you really want to trust it anyway?

As for this error...do you have another external drive, or better yet a network share you can test and see if the same issue occurs? It almost sounds as if your drive is timing out, but need more info. You may also want to open a case, and then post it to the board so others who get this error will know what is up.
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby travisdhahn » Fri Jan 16, 2015 4:49 pm

I would also request these features / on my test machine I need to do some other project and the Endpoint Backup was running and slowed my interaction down. Having the ability to pause/resume would solve those times.

I know I can schedule the backup to run at different time(s) but the scenario is there to be an issue
travisdhahn
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:55 pm
Full Name: Travis Hahn

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:42 pm

Guys, Pause/Resume option is one feature request, but resume from the failed backup is another which sounds for me like a usual retry. Agree?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby ninjaburn81 » Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:47 pm

d.popov wrote:Guys, Pause/Resume option is one feature request, but resume from the failed backup is another which sounds for me like a usual retry. Agree?


Agreed!
ninjaburn81
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:56 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Full Name: Adam Vogini

Re: Feature Request - Backup Pause / Resume

Veeam Logoby danoarx » Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:49 pm

I have a case open with the support. Let's see if they can figure why my backups are failing. That drives works fine with other software so I don't think the drive is bad.
danoarx
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:31 pm
Full Name: Adnan Riaz

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests