Feature Request : Central console with only 1 UAC Prompt

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Feature Request : Central console with only 1 UAC Prompt

Veeam Logoby jeancharles » Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:08 am

Hi,
I have UAC enabled on my windows 8.1, and when I launch every and each VEB module I have to validate an UAC Prompt.

It would be nice if we could have a Dashboard that allowed to launch the backup utility, restore, media builder, etc, with only one UAC prompt at initial launch.
Also it would be nice if we could use the backup operators rights for non admin users.
jeancharles
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:55 am
Full Name: Jean-Charles DEMARQUE

Re: Feature Request : Central console with only 1 UAC Prompt

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:54 am

Hi Jean-Charles,

Since User Account Control (UAC) is a Microsoft built in security utility there is nothing we can do about it. However, there are several workaround that might be useful: User Account Control (adding a program to safe list) and Stop Annoying UAC Prompts
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request : Central console with only 1 UAC Prompt

Veeam Logoby jeancharles » Mon Dec 22, 2014 3:03 pm

I know, I meant you could maybe lessen the number of prompts by having a "master application" that would have the UAC prompt once and other links launched would be included.

With Windows 8.1 disabling completely UAC is not an option anymore as it disables the "New applications" , so maybe this settings should be added to the future GPO files of the program ;)
jeancharles
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:55 am
Full Name: Jean-Charles DEMARQUE

Re: Feature Request : Central console with only 1 UAC Prompt

Veeam Logoby ITP-Stan » Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:13 pm

I have UAC enabled, but only had it prompt during installation.
Not when i click on the tray icon and not when a backup runs.
Windows 7 x64
ITP-Stan
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 70
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:45 am
Full Name: Stan (IF-IT4U)

Re: Feature Request : Central console with only 1 UAC Prompt

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:47 pm

Stan,
For Win 8.x it is prompted for every wizard/tool. I know - it is not considered to be a best practice but I set my UAC settings to ‘Never notify me.’ (actually I have it disbled since Windows Vista release :mrgreen: ).
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request : Central console with only 1 UAC Prompt

Veeam Logoby ITP-Stan » Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:45 pm

Well,
It's not best practice, moreover I think you should not do it.
In Vista (without SP) the UAC was pretty annoying but from Windows 7 on it's not annoying at all. Just remember to open command prompt with run as admin whenever necesseary.

But software should be designed to elevate itself once if necessary and not all the time. It's strange that in Win 7 it works fine but not in Win 8. Is Win8 stricter with elevation perhaps?
ITP-Stan
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 70
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:45 am
Full Name: Stan (IF-IT4U)

Re: Feature Request : Central console with only 1 UAC Prompt

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:36 pm

Is Win8 stricter with elevation perhaps?

Yes, it feels so. We are looking at the MS UAC general recommendations – so it might behave better when we tune Endpoint with UAC. Will see in GA.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests