Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby theflash89 » Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:37 pm 1 person likes this post

We are looking to use this software to completely replace Backup Exec on our client's physical machines. One nice thing would be able to integrate it with the labtech plugin for Labtech 10 when it is released. Most of these clients are a small one server shop for now as well, so if it could be able to work independently of Backup & Replication, that would be awesome for this.
theflash89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:46 am
Full Name: Brett Brownderville

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:43 pm

Hi Brett,

Yes, this is actually planned for the short term future. Can you please tell me what capabilities you would like to see in integration with LabTech? What would be your top 5 must have features of first release of the plug-in?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby theflash89 » Thu Apr 16, 2015 8:48 pm

Well my answer will be skewed a bit as I have only been a propartner for a short while and was already on labtech 10 at the time. All that to say I haven't ever been able to use the plugin to monitor anything yet.

For my wishes that it could monitor:
Last 7 days job statues (success, fail, warning)
Repository Size (size being used/size available/percentages)
See what the job actually does
Email alert ability

I think those 4 things would get me in a much better situation to roll this out to all my remaining physical boxes.
theflash89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:46 am
Full Name: Brett Brownderville

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Apr 16, 2015 9:00 pm

Brett,
By the way, how critical is to lock the Endpoint configuration and restore functionality from an end user activity (read only mode) ?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Apr 16, 2015 9:21 pm

theflash89 wrote:All that to say I haven't ever been able to use the plugin to monitor anything yet.

I believe you're referring to Veeam B&R plug-in here which is already available? How many computers you would like to protect with Veeam Endpoint?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby theflash89 » Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:03 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:
theflash89 wrote:All that to say I haven't ever been able to use the plugin to monitor anything yet.

I believe you're referring to Veeam B&R plug-in here which is already available? How many computers you would like to protect with Veeam Endpoint?


We are on Labtech 10. The current B&R plugin doesn't function in Labtech 10. We are looking at installing Endpoint on upwards of 50 physical servers.
theflash89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:46 am
Full Name: Brett Brownderville

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:21 pm

Yes, that's what I've thought. In order to install Endpoint I assume you will need silent installation, remote job management and that's it? How about restores? Will your managed users do file-level restores themselves or it will be you who will do this?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby theflash89 » Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm 1 person likes this post

Vitaliy S. wrote:In order to install Endpoint I assume you will need silent installation, remote job management and that's it? How about restores? Will your managed users do file-level restores themselves or it will be you who will do this?


Silent Install & remote job management would be great. Restores don't necessarily have to be done remotely. Usually we log into the servers in order to do a restore. If that function could be done within the plugin, that would really push this over the top. We do all restores for our clients.
theflash89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 2:46 am
Full Name: Brett Brownderville

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:37 pm

Perfect, it seems like we are on the same page regarding what features are required. Let me know if you come up with anything extra that you would like to see in the plug-in for Endpoint.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby wnichols » Thu May 21, 2015 7:45 pm

theflash89 wrote:
Vitaliy S. wrote:In order to install Endpoint I assume you will need silent installation, remote job management and that's it? How about restores? Will your managed users do file-level restores themselves or it will be you who will do this?


Silent Install & remote job management would be great. Restores don't necessarily have to be done remotely. Usually we log into the servers in order to do a restore. If that function could be done within the plugin, that would really push this over the top. We do all restores for our clients.


I echo these requirements. Any idea on when the plugin might be available for testing?
wnichols
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu May 21, 2015 8:44 pm

Thank you for your interest in this integration! Actually we were not planning doing any public betas for this, but I would happy to recruit a focus group (based on the demand) that I could personally provide support and work directly when we will be closer to the GA.

How many endpoints/servers you have in your infrastructure that you would like to test this integration with?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:17 pm 2 people like this post

Veeam Endpoint Backup for LabTech has been officially announced.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:28 pm

And if you want to see the live demo of the integration, you can sign up to the whiteboard episode via this link > http://www.veeam.com/veeamlive/managing ... btech.html
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:20 am

For those of you who missed this show, here is the link with a recording for this webinar > http://www.veeam.com/videos/managing-ba ... -6363.html
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Labtech Plugin Integration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:03 am 1 person likes this post

Guys, we have just went live with this solution, thank you all for your feedback, WebEx calls, and meetings at Automation Nation! Check out this topic for more info > [VEB FOR LABTECH] Current version is 1.0 (Sep 17, 2015)
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests