Firewall ports and VEB

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby lowlander » Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:35 pm

Hi,

great integration with Veeam B&R now, regarding VEB repositories.

We want to backup to the B&R environment with VEB over the internet. Is this technically possible and supported with VEB ?

Big question, what ports should be forwarded / opened between laptop <> Internet <> B&R server (suppose all Veeam components are installed on the B&R server) ?
lowlander
Service Provider
 
Posts: 267
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am

Re: Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby niknaks456 » Mon Mar 09, 2015 4:10 pm

+1 If not possible we would really like to see it as it will allow us to standardise all backup options.
niknaks456
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 8:42 pm
Full Name: NIKNAKS

Re: Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 09, 2015 4:31 pm

Can you setup a VPN connection to the network where Veeam B&R server is installed and then save your backups to the repository of Veeam backup server? In this case you should not be worried about ports management and securing your data when sending over the internet connection.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby lowlander » Sun Mar 15, 2015 9:33 am 1 person likes this post

Point taken :)

VPN is indeed the way to go. What really would be a nice feature is to define an alternate IP address in the backup job configuration. When you use local ip address the job uses the internal LAN address. When using a VPN solution (E.g. PPTP VPN) you use the assigned IP address in the backup job configuration for the VPN tunnel.

Managed to test this with incoming connections enabled on a Windows 2012R2 server :)
lowlander
Service Provider
 
Posts: 267
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am

Re: Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby benthomas » Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:46 pm

Is it possible to get these ports? I'm looking to test this backing up some DMZ servers so would like to be able to open the firewall ports between VEB and VBR in the LAN
benthomas
Service Provider
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 2:29 am
Full Name: Ben Thomas

Re: Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:48 pm

I believe these ports should be the same as in Veeam B&R server > Used Ports (will try to confirm tomorrow)
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby andreash » Tue May 26, 2015 9:40 am

Any update on this? Also trying to backup DMZ servers here.
andreash
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:13 am
Full Name: Andreas Holzhammer

Re: Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue May 26, 2015 10:42 am

Andreas,

You need to use ports mentioned in this on-line help center page > Used Ports.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] VEB for External clients

Veeam Logoby cdicks » Mon Aug 17, 2015 11:28 pm

Hey

I'm wondering if it's possible to allow external VEB clients connect to an internal VBR server.

I've tried opening port 10001 up and i can connect to the Veeam server, however, when the client starts the backup it fails saying it can't connect to the server. Is there a port range I can open on our firewall for the data transfer?
cdicks
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:39 pm

[MERGED] Re:VEB for External clients

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Aug 18, 2015 8:27 am

Hi,

10001 is not the only tcp port used for interconnection between VEB and VBR. Please refer to this ports table. If any questions arise please let us know.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby cdicks » Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:56 pm

Ah thanks guys

The port list is what i was looking for! I'll open these ports and give it a test


VPN does work fine but we use Microsoft DirectAccess for most external users so most of the time they aren't connected to VPN. However, saying that, I could set their VEB client to only backup when backup target is connected.
cdicks
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Firewall ports and VEB

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Aug 19, 2015 10:48 am

I could set their VEB client to only backup when backup target is connected.

Sounds like a plan. By the way there is an option to “Disable backup over metered connection” in Control Panel > Settings and you can use it in order to avoid backing up while connected to wireless networks like 3G/4G.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amgadsourial and 10 guests