Force Agent Workstation to Backup via Console

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Force Agent Workstation to Backup via Console

Veeam Logoby garybelanger » Wed May 17, 2017 1:53 pm

Hi,

This currently isn't a feature, but would like to request it to be an feature upgrade in the near future. Currently we have Endpoints, now Agents, that backup to our Veeam Backup and Replication server repository. When we go into the Console for Veeam Backup & Replication, we can see the Agents that have backed up. I would like to be able to right click one of the agents and select Start to be able to initiate a backup versus having to go to the Agent computer and running a backup manually. We sometimes know that some Agent computers that we have don't get backed up on a regular basis whether they are rarely in the office to do a backup, so when we know that the Agent computer is in the office, it would be great to just go into the Console, find the agent computer, right click and START to backup the computer immediately.

I see that there is a Statistics and History options when right clicking in the Console for Agents, but they are greyed out. I am assuming that these options will be available eventually.

Thanks.

Gary
garybelanger
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:24 pm
Full Name: Gary Belanger

Re: Force Agent Workstation to Backup via Console

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed May 17, 2017 2:41 pm

If you are using VAW 2.0 you should already be able to see the statistics per Agent job in VBR.

In regards to launching jobs from the interface; this is possible by using the Veeam Availability Console (currently in RC status).
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1477
Liked: 323 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Force Agent Workstation to Backup via Console

Veeam Logoby garybelanger » Wed May 17, 2017 3:50 pm

Hi,

That's great, but that again is another tool to open and have to do just do a backup when I am already in the Backup console. The options to START a Backup by right clicking the agent in VB&R are already there, but they are just greyed out. With these options in VB&R ever be not greyed out?

I only so far have upgraded 1 client physical computer to Windows Agent and the others are still using Endpoint, and the one running Windows Agent when I right click in the console, it gives me the option to select Statistics only and it only gives me the stats on the last backup, not the history. Report is greyed out as well. Why?

Thanks.

00860676
garybelanger
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:24 pm
Full Name: Gary Belanger

Re: Force Agent Workstation to Backup via Console

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed May 17, 2017 3:53 pm

In v10 we'll further integrate agents in VBR :-). This has been announced today at VeeamON.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1477
Liked: 323 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Force Agent Workstation to Backup via Console

Veeam Logoby garybelanger » Wed May 17, 2017 5:49 pm

Sounds good. Hopefully it will be at least these few features and many more. :)

Thanks.
garybelanger
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:24 pm
Full Name: Gary Belanger

Re: Force Agent Workstation to Backup via Console

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Fri May 19, 2017 4:52 pm

+1 to wanting this in B&R console sooner rather than later.
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 112
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Force Agent Workstation to Backup via Console

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed May 31, 2017 10:06 pm

Hi folks,

Do not forget to subscribe here.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6113
Liked: 434 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mike72677 and 19 guests