High CPU usage

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby jon.f » Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:48 pm

Windows 7 64 bit
Getting 50% CPU usage by VeeamAgent.exe *32
VeeamAgent.exe using 12%
jon.f
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:13 am

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:31 pm

jon.f,
Could you please describe your hardware configuration? Thank you
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby jon.f » Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:45 pm

Dell laptop connected to external esata drive (lots of other software installed which could easily be interfering)
Are there log files I can send you?
jon.f
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:13 am

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:49 pm

jon.f,

I mean your laptop's CPU and RAM.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby jon.f » Thu Dec 18, 2014 3:00 pm

i5 8Gb
jon.f
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:13 am

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:52 pm

Thank you. Could you describe your backup job configuration in details i.e. what are the source and the target for you backup job? Have you, by chance, disabled throttling in the CP > Settings?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby abienkowski » Wed May 06, 2015 2:04 pm

Same Problem here with 1.0.0.1954.

Lenovo Thinkpad X230t i5 8GB RAM

Source : 128GB SSD (Volume Backup)
Target : Veeam Backup Repository over Gigabit LAN
Windows 8.1
Getting 50% CPU usage by VeeamAgent.exe *32 only when backing up to the repository. Backing up to a remote SMB share works flawlessly.
abienkowski
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 2:00 pm

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed May 06, 2015 4:51 pm

Hello abienkowski,
What about the backup throttling at the Endpoint’s end? Have you configured the network throttling or backup encryption at the VBR side?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby abienkowski » Wed May 06, 2015 9:37 pm

Hi Dima,

Endpoint throttling is enabled, no enrcyption or throttling at the VBR side.

Thank you,
Andre
abienkowski
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 2:00 pm

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed May 06, 2015 11:48 pm

OK let's step back a little.

First, depending on the processing speed, CPU usage can be quite normal, as we can be talking here about real-time processing (dedupe and compression) of 200MB/s data stream. That a lot of data to process every second!

Now, backing up to a Veeam repository should generally work much faster due to multi-streaming between data movers, you don't get this with SMB, which can mean a few times slower backup, and CPU usage reduced respectively. Of course, we would still want to confirm that with the logs just to be sure.

However, what is the real problem that you have with this CPU usage that prompted you to create this topic? Are you saying that this CPU usage is impacting your ability to use laptop? This should not be the case, as by default Veeam Endpoint Backup processes are set to run at a very low priority, and will use CPU only as long as no other application "wants" it. Can you make sure you still have the corresponding option enabled in Control Panel?

Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: High CPU usage

Veeam Logoby abienkowski » Mon May 25, 2015 12:18 pm

If i run the backup to an SMB share, i don't really recognize that veeam is running, system is running smooth. When backing to a repository, the system feels very sluggish, nearly unusable. Hard to describe, but a huge difference between the two backup target.

Throttling is still enabled !
abienkowski
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 2:00 pm


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests