How to configure backups

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

How to configure backups

Veeam Logoby john510 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 3:56 pm

Right now im using the free backup Veeam software for windows but having a little problem figuring how to set the configuration up.
I want to keep 3 Full images of the computer on the backup destination so how would I do this, I dont want increment backups but to always have 3 versions of the same computer saved then it can rotate them after that.
john510
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: How to configure backups

Veeam Logoby Technogod » Sun Jul 23, 2017 7:19 pm

The only way to accomplish this would be move the .vbk file to another folder after VAW performs a backup. This would force VAW to perform a full backup during the next scheduled backup. Also copy the .vbm file to the same folder as the .vbk file. The .vbm file contains the meta data used to identify the backups. If VAW created an incremental backup before you moved the .vbk file. Also move the .vib file.
Technogod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 74
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:52 am

Re: How to configure backups

Veeam Logoby john510 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 7:50 pm

then what is this new feature in the new release that says?

Click the advanced to enable periodic full backups?
john510
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: How to configure backups

Veeam Logoby Technogod » Sun Jul 23, 2017 8:55 pm

It will create a full backup on the specified day of the month or day of the week. This is a new independent backup chain. The previous backup chain won't be deleted until the end of the retention period. Retention period is determined by the setting restore points to keep on disk.
Technogod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 74
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:52 am

Re: How to configure backups

Veeam Logoby john510 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 10:50 pm

setting restore points? how would i do that? then i can just tel it to make a full backup say every Saturday but limit them to 3 of them , can i do that?
john510
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: How to configure backups

Veeam Logoby Technogod » Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:11 am

No, restore points to keep on disk only keeps restore points from the last full backup. It's located under configure backup. Then select Backup Repository on the left hand side.
Technogod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 74
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:52 am


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests